Walke/ Gudmakaiche lonche


Last month, I made a short trip to Chembur to visit my grandmother. We missed meeting each other for 2 years. Both of us wished to see each other desperately! However with some important commitments and the predicted rainfall in the first few weeks of my visit I had given up the hopes of meeting her.
I feel our intentions(both ajji’s and mine) were absolutely pure… And I could work out our visit. It was a sheer bliss being in her arms once again. “Apli punha bhet hoil asa vatlech nahi… Majha kahich sangta yet nahi” , she said. The cuddle was strong and deep as tears rolled down her eyes.
Through out the day, we had our share of laughter and stories. Loads of memories poured in since my birth to my son’s childhood. Mami made the most delicious meal. Her ambat varan, kheer and gudmakai lonche blew me off my feet… Literally! Cause I could hardly stay awake.. Baslya thikani satranji var aadvi padle!

gudmakai
Time flies when you have fun! Post tea time we made our way back to Pune. It was only when I sat in the cab that I realised that we had such a wonderful time… Such a lot of fun.. We made some memories together!!

image

Ajji and mami know I like handmade stuff and cooking. Ajji handed a beautiful bag. I will treasure the crochet bag that she had asked a lady to make for me. Mami rushed to the nearest greengrocer to fetch some gudmakai. These gudmakai and her recipes that she shared are in line soon in my kitchen.

image

 

For this one needs:

1 Walke/gudmakai chopped in cubes

Crushed mustard 1 tsp

Lemon juice 2-3 tbsp

red chilli powder 1 tsp

Turmeric 1 tsp

fenugreek powder 1/2 tsp

asafoetida 1/2 tsp

salt to taste

All one needs to do is mix all the ingredients together and jar up in an air tight jar!! Yes it is that simple. Just making sure that each ingredient picked is in proper proportions.

Leave a Reply

