Anaarse Saga


Year 2012:

I so wished to make Anaarse. However I wasn’t prepared for the week long toil of soaking rice, changing the water every day and further fermentation. I spoke to ajji and she suggested khobryache anaarse. Khup fesaave lagel pun.. She suggested!! Amhi lahaan hoto tya veli chuli var tawa thevun, punha tyavar zaakan laavun var kolse thevun bhajaaycho. Tu kashi bhaajnar? True that.. It sounded tricky!

It is not the version which I normally had been eating back at home. The traditional recipe involves fermentation of jaggery with washed dried and ground rice. The resultant dough is then rolled into small balls, flattened, topped with poppy seeds and then deep fried.

This involves the simple use of Dried coconut soaked in water and then grated. I used dessicated coconut instead which I soaked for about 15-20 minutes.
2 cups of grated dry coconut (I used dessicated coconut) soaked in water first and then grated otherwise.

1 cup confectioner’s sugar

1 tablespoon of cream(I used sour cream)

1/2 cup ghee(you may use butter)

Poppy seeds to top

Method: Once the coconut is grated(making sure not to use the dark shell), roast it lightly. Make sure the coconut does not change colour. Keep aside once done.

Preheat oven at 150 degrees C. Keep a cupcake pan handy. If you do not have a cupcake pan, use a normal baking sheet.

image

In a plate, pour the ghee. Using your palms, whisk it back and forth. This whisking changes the consistency and the colour of ghee. The ghee attains a pale colour. This is referred to as “fesne” in Marathi. To this add the sugar and slowly add the roasted coconut. Mix well. To this add the sour ghee and mix very well. Make small balls with the dough and flatten. Place these balls in each cupcake shell in the cupcake pan. Sprinkle and press some poppy seeds.

Bake these till the colour turns lightly golden. Keep a good watch as these anarse are rather delicate. Too less baking will break them. My batch took about 25-30 mins to bake completely.

Once baked, bring it out of the oven. Gently place each of these anarse on a cooling rack. They are nice and crisp by the time they cool.

image

Even Kamalabai Ogale’s recipe suggests using oven! Yes, I am absolutely amazed that way back in her days she tried exploring baking techniques too.

To me these are the simplest way to appease my cravings for anarse and an absolute EUREKA!! in my English Kitchen:)

Now Year 2016

By now everyone must have gathered about my apprehension of making Anaarse the traditional way …right from the scratch. But as our aais’ and aajjis’ suggest patience is a virtue… 3 days of soaking, and drying just enough and making sure not to over dry or else tukda padto. Then the dough making with jaggery! I even tried frying them instantly… They started disintegrating ! But pudhe daba 3-4 zakun purna pane visrun gele. And last evening we had a batch of na hasnaare anarse. Gul kami jasta zala tar kay hya bhitine ek ek talun pahat hote. Finally I could make them! Far from what the masters prepare but yes.. Getting there I suppose.

image

For this I used a pela(traditional glass) of ambe mohar rice with the equal quantity of jaggery.
Poppy seeds to top
Ghee to fry

Soak rice for 3 days and change water everyday. On the 4th day drain away all the water. Spread the rice on a kitchen towel. Let this stay in shed for a couple of hours.
Grind the rice in a mixer into a fine flour.
Sieve to get finer flour.
To this mix equal quantity of jaggery and rub in slowly to make soft dough. You may need to add in a spoon of milk in case it doesn’t encorporate well. But that is the last resort.
Place this dough in an air tight container (away from your site…or else you will be tempted to try frying them!)
4 days of wait should give you good results.
In a pan heat ghee/oil to fry.
Grease your palm.
The resultant dough is then rolled into small balls, flattened, topped with poppy seeds and then deep fried.

4 thoughts on “Anaarse Saga

  1. I tried making anarsa yesterday (was meant for Mahalakshmya but couldn’t do it then).. but had soaked rice for only 1.5 day.. my problem was there was no proper jaali.. the earlier attempt flopped as I didn’t know we have to mix jaggery n keep it for a few days.. I had immediately fried one batch which disintegrated and baked one batch but that too spread .. now will try again with these tips .. I have a couple of questions 1. do you mix and refrigerate the batter? 2. Some recipes call for sieving the flour prior to mixing jaggery .. but that leaves very little fine flour.. perhaps my mixer is not strong enough.. do you skip this step?
    The instant one looks tempting.. if I try it will let you know how it goes

    1. Hi Rukmini, first of all apologies with the delayed come back on this. My family was grieving due to a recent loss of a family member. Hence was away from blogging and social media. I checked with my aai. She suggests soaking the rice for the right number of days, drying and further grinding it fine and keeping the batter to ferment well for a good duration is imperative for the jaali. I do not refridgerate the batter. Just place it away in an air tight container. Sieving ensures we have fine flour. So I will suggest regrinding the flour to fine flour. Make sure you dry the rice well on a kitchen towel and grind it. I hope you managed to make the instant ones too. Do let me know.

Leave a Reply

