Layered bar cookies for Bappa


Ganeshotsav has begun last week with lot of pomp and galore. Our family has been busy making sure Bappa spends a good time with us all. He is our favourite God. Mainly because he loves food and we do as well. I have been making different types of modak for prasaad. It is tricky at times with a busy work schedule but the happiness is when I come back home, prepare the modak and offer them every evening.

Layered cookies 2

Yesterday though, I made a layered bar cookie with the extra resources I had in my pantry. I had a pack of khawa(milk solids),  a cupful of panchkhadya(mix of candy sugar, roasted dry coconut, ground dry dates, roasted poppy seeds, ground nuts(almonds and cashews). Every thing goes in this layered bar cookie.

Few other resources needed are:

Melted butter 1/4 cup

1 can of condensed milk

Chopped almonds

70 g of Parle G biscuits ground in a mixer

Cardamom powder

Cook the khawa with sugar till crumbly.

Layered bar cookies

Here is how it was created:

Melt the butter and pour it in an oven proof dish.

IMG_0453

Next add in the biscuits to cover the butter.

IMG_0454

Add the khawa as the next layer when cool.

IMG_0455

Further add the layer of panchkhadya

IMG_0457

Pour in a layer of condensed milk to cover the last layer. Sprinkle some cardamom powder and chopped almonds.

IMG_0460

Bake this in a preheated oven at 180 degrees for  20 mins till the edges turn brown.

IMG_0461

Cool and cling film the pan. Refrigerate for 2 hours. When set, cut into pieces.

Layered cookies 3

This makes a nice crunchy, gooey and the best cookies I have had so far. I am sure my Bappa enjoyed it as well. I was supposed to post this for my monthly baking group (#Creative Cookie Exchange). However, I missed the deadline due to a busy work schedule lined up 😦 Never mind I thought, at least I have been active in my kitchen making my Bappa and myself happy.

2 thoughts on “Layered bar cookies for Bappa

Leave a Reply

