Methi aka Fenugreek greens Mudda Bhaaji


It is a gloomy day my side of the world. This morning, I woke up feeling very homesick. It is just over a week that I am back from India and my break is at the tail end. I and my colleague had plans to go to work and get our class room set for the students arriving next week. Just when I was getting ready to go to work, the heavens opened.

It was pouring heavily and all I could think of was a cup of masala tea. I set my kettle on and I started clearing away rubbish off the kitchen platform after cleaning a bundle of methi leaves. The dough for the chapati was kneaded and set aside. The dough needed resting and so did I.

As I sipped my cuppa, aai asked me about the morning. It is a ritual now that she checks on me at the beginning of the day. I informed her about my plans to visit work if it stops raining. Aai and I had a chat about the ways of life and the terms we agree upon. Our conversation drifted to mudda bhaji she had made during my stay.

She said , Methi barik chirun ghe,nantar turdal  ani methi changli ekatra shijavun ghe ,shijlyavar changle hatun ghe ; thodya telavar 2tbl spoon daliche pith kami ache var bhaaj, nantar tyat bhajee tak;chinch gul tikhat mith ghal ani  chan ghatta bhaji kar. Ani hing lalmirchi phodani de. As she was typing in the method, I imagined standing next to her by her kitchen platform. My eyes followed her hands as she meticulously churned this bhaaji. Well, that was my imagination, thousands of kilometres away from homeland. It made me rather more homesick. I had to get over it.

I gave up all the plans to go to work and started with my therapy. Here is the result post my therapy…gajaraachi koshimbir, hirvya tomato chi chutney, aai’s homemade lime pickle, methichi mudda bhaaji with taaji phodni to top up and polya.mudda bhaji

Here is Mudda bhaaji recipe just the way mentioned:

Ingredients:

1 bundle of methi(fenugreek greens) cleaned and leaves washed and chopped

1 cup of toor dal

Besan 2 tbsp

Salt to taste

Oil for tempering

Mustard seeds 1 tsp

Asafoetida a pinch

Turmeric powder 1 tsp

Red chilli powder 1 tsp or more if you like it hot

Tamarind pulp 1 tsp

Jaggery to add a wee bit of sweetness

Further tempering:

Oil 1 tablespoon

Mustard seeds 1 tsp

Asafoetida a pinch

Dry red chillies a couple

mudda bhaji 2

Method:

Make a tempering with mustard seeds, turmeric and asafoetida. Add and cook dal and methi  together until done. You my cook in a pressure cooker if you like. Once cooked, use a ladle to mix well. In a pan roast besan in about half a teaspoon of oil. Add the methi and dal mix into the pan of besan roasted. To this add salt, chilli powder, tamarind, jaggery. Cook this for about a couple of minutes. We like this bhaaji thick and add no water. If you wish, you may add some water to make the consistency thinner.

Just before this bhaaji is served, the final tempering is added. Heat oil in a pan, add mustard seeds, asafoetida and dry red chillies. This tempering goes on top of the bhaaji. This takes it an extra notch high in terms of taste. Serve it with roti, rice or even bhakri.

Additionally you may dry roast cumin seeds and dry coconut. Crush them in mortar and pestle. Add this to the bhaaji to add an extra dimension.

I checked Ruchira as well. It has a couple of recipes for methichi bhaji. The second recipe is similar but the consistency seems thinner as against mudda bhaaji.

7 thoughts on “Methi aka Fenugreek greens Mudda Bhaaji

Leave a Reply

