Usal


Usal is a spicy preparation with sprouts.  Matkichi usal best reminds me of summers in India, when this sprout I used to prepare with thecha, bhakri and mattha/taak and to go with an addition accompaniment of kachcha kanda(raw onion..ideally the small white ones). Without going into my nostalgia, I will do a quick post of this usal with the options of moog and black eyed beans usal. matki usal If using other sprouts one just needs to swap the sprouts with matki in the list of ingredients here. If using moog or black eyed beans, I dry roast them and pressure cook before following the method. To sprout matki one needs to soak to in the morning. Drain in the afternoon and tie in a muslin and place in a warm place. I usually place it in my boiler cabinet. Ideally the moths sprout in a couple of days in Summer after being placed in a warm place however needs a few more days in Winter.  Now to the simple ingredient list: Matki sprouted (moth beans) 2 cups Kala masala(will be posting the recipe soon) 2tsp Green chillies a couple(we like it very mild) red chilli powder(optional or just use red chilli powder if not using green chillies) cumin seeds 1 tsp dessicated coconut 2 tbsp jaggery 1 tsp( a small amount to add a sweet taste) tamarind pulp 1/2 tsp(if using raw tamarind, one needs to soak in water and squeeze the tamarind flavour in water) for tempering one needs oil, mustard seeds, curry leaves and asafoetida Method: Grind green chillies, dessicated coconut and cumin seeds and keep aside. Cook the sprouts in a vessel. I usually pressure cook. To this add the kala masala, salt, jaggery and tamarind pulp. Mix well.  In a separate get the tempering sorted by heating a tablespoon of oil, add mustard seeds. Once they splutter, add curry leaves and asafoetida. Add this tempering to the cooked sprouts. If you like the curry thinner, add a quarter cup of water and cook for about 4-5 mins. Garnish with chopped coriander and serve with chapatis’ or rice.

matkichi usal

Ruchira suggests using garlic which I normally do not use in my usal. However, when making misal or with other masala blend like the Koli masala or the Malvani masala which my dear friend Anjali from Annaparabrahma has sent me, I add some garlic(blend it with the green chillies and coconut) to the preparation. I must say the spices she makes are out of the world. They add distinguishing flavour to all my preparations which is relished by all. Including my non-vegetarian preparations are enjoyed by all using these spice blends. I would recommend anyone who enjoys authentic Indian food to get in touch with Anjali to procure these spices. Here is my black eyed beans I prepared using her spice blends. I swapped kala masala for Anjali’s Koli masala. black eyed bean usal

3 thoughts on “Usal

  1. Preeti it is always encouraging to know that the AnnaParabrahma brand is appreciated so much. It makes us want to spread the wings wider. My team feels proud with every new kitchen we touch across the world, like your Marathi kitchen in England. Continue to enjoy the aromas and flavors of our masalas. Thank you for all the praises, we value you a lot. Keep patronizing us! Love.

Leave a Reply

