Dahi butti


Summer calls for easy digestible meals with rice accompaniment of dahi butti many times. I have memories of very hot summer afternoons in India when all we preferred was dahi butti and kutachya mirchya fried. My maternal aunt personalised her dahi butti with pomegranate seeds, while my mother grated cucumber and added to it. Either way, it just tasted amazing and cooled the soul sweltering in the heat. Dahi butti 

Ingredients:

1 cup of cooked rice

1/2 cup yoghurt

1/2 cup milk

Salt to taste

Sugar(optional)

For tempering:

Chopped green/red chillies a couple or more if you prefer

1 tsp cumin seeds

1 tsp ghee

Curry leaves

Asafoetida(optional)

Chopped coriander for garnishing

Method: When the rice cools down, add in the yoghurt, salt and sugar. Prepare the tempering and add to the rice. Cover and keep aside(I normally prepare this 10-15 mins in advance..this helps the yoghurt imbibe the aromas of the ghee tempering) Just before serving, add in the milk. Garnish with chopped corainder.

Dahi butti 1

If at times yoghurt is not enough to mix in, I make a buttermillk and carry out the same process. This rice is very handy for picnics too. Just keep the cold rice mixed with temperings ready; mix in the yoghurt and millk just before serving. Ruchira suggests using kutachya mirchya, cumin seeds, curry leaves for tempering. However, kuthachya mirchya are rarely available in the Asian stores and I normally do not have a large stock in my pantry either. Instead I use green chillies chopped or dry red chillies broken into pieces. To add to the texture I add 1 tsp of urad dal in the tempering. As sprinkle of powdered roasted cumin seeds gives it an added dimension. A simple yet filling rice preparation which I prefer when I am running out of time or when I have very less in my pantry.

Leave a Reply

