Royal grain pudding(Rajgira/Amaranth kheer)


Ragira ladu and vadi is one of my favourites when it comes to food we have for fasting. I had half a pack of rajgira in my store. I referred Ruchira by Kamalabai Ogale last week to use it up for Maha Shivratri. Just then my N mavshi(maternal aunty) shared her recipe of Rajgira kheer too. It is the same as Kamalabai Ogale suggests in her book. Just that mavshi asked me to cook rajgira in the pressure cooker by tying it in a cloth. I knew I would definitely love this kheer once I decided to make it. When I am hooked on to a recipe, I cook the food twice before it actually gets cooked. First when I read or hear the recipe, next when I start thinking about the flavours and then finally when it actually gets cooked. Happiness is when I hear from everyone that it is just perfect!

Rajgira kheerThis kheer is as simple as it can be. All it needs is 4 ingredients :

Rajgira 1 cup

Jaggery 1/2 cup

Milk 2 cups

Cardamom powder 1 tsp

Soaked almonds which are peeled and chopped to garnish(optional)

Saffron few strands again to garnish

Pressure cook rajgira with half cup of water. Once done. Add milk and let the mix boil for some time. Add the jaggery and cardamom powder. Garnish with chopped almonds and saffron. Serve hot or cold. Yes it is absolutely done in a jiffy!!

Here is another of our family recipe penned down forever in my space. Thanks N mavshi 🙂

Rajgira kheer2

4 thoughts on “Royal grain pudding(Rajgira/Amaranth kheer)

      1. it was very very nice. people at home, specially in-laws, loved it …more so because the grain & its goodness was known to them yet was never brought in kitchen for any practical cooking use

Leave a Reply

