Watsapp Kashmiri Dum Aloo


My recent experiance on social media fits in so well with the quote-“Most of us have fond memories of food from our childhood. Whether it was our mom’s homemade lasagna or a memorable chocolate birthday cake, food has a way of transporting us back to the past.” Well in any Indian family it could be a homemade dal or a memorable halwa. Food finally is a tradition that is about sharing, honesty and identity. We recently established a group on watsapp with my near and dear ones. The group is for sharing our treasured and shared recipe in the family. I started asking my sister, sister-in-law, cousins, mother, aunts and even brothers-in-law. It is just a week gone and we are almost 25 members strong. I am glad this group is giving a productive end in everyone’s kitchen ..well at least it is in my kitchen. I am quite enjoying the time sharing and going through everyone’s recipes. Frankly this is such a better way of using watsapp than forwarding jokes and mocking others.

Dum alooHence this watsapp kashmiri Dum aloo from my Kashmiri sister-in-law V. Thanks V for sharing this recipe. I am glad I can finally pen it down in my space here.

This particular recipe is one of my favourites as it is different and the gravy includes no onion and tomato as normally the other gravies do. The use of fresh aromatic spices and of course the mustard oil(which I did without) gives it a different dimension. dum aloo recipe

Make a firm dough using flour. This is to seal the container in which the potatoes are cooked. Peel and poke the potatoes with fork and soak in 3 cups of waterwhich has a tablespoon of salt added.  Leave the potatoes in this water for 20-30 mins.

Heat the oil for deep frying the potatoes. Fry the potatoes till they are golden brown.Drain them on a paper towel and set aside.

dum loo 2

Mix yoghurt, chilli powder, ginger, cardamom and fennel powders. Add in the potatoes in this mixture and keep aside.

In a deep pan, heat mustard oil(I did not have this hence I have mentioned oil for tempering in the list of ingredients), Add the clove powder and add half a cup of hot water and some salt. Boil. Add the potato mixture to this. Stir well and cover. Seal the edges of the pan with the dough prepared earlier. This will ensure that no steam escapes as the potatoes are being cooked slowly. Cook on a low flame for 10-15 mins.

When done, get rid of the seal. Add Cumin and garam masala powders. Cover and leave for a couple of minutes.

You may serve this with warm chapatis’, naan or even plain rice. I relished it with piping hot fried puris’. Once again thanks V 🙂

Leave a Reply

