Fresh cream strawberry cake


Recently the weather has been extremely chilly and all I hear at work and home is cough-cough and cough. The weather is taking the toll on everybody’s health. I would prefer the snow regularly than this biting cold weather. Every morning I don atleast 3-4 layers and a huge coat on me! The boots, gloves, hat and scarf make me look absolutely like woollen ball! I just can not wait until the summer…looking forward to some salwar kurtas’, chappals, fresh fruits, juices, salads, ice creams and barbeques!! Oh! for the sunshine, warmth and the summer season!!

This morning I baked a fresh cream cake for a friend’s daughter who is celebrating her birthday with her school friends. She insisted on pink colour and here I added a tiny tinge of red food colouring to the fresh cream to get the pink she wanted.

Strawberry fresh cream cake

I will be doing quick posts hence forth as I have at least 30 posts in my archive waiting to be published! The same number in my drafts waiting to be typed!! I wish I could give some good time to my blog. Inspite of giving such less time to my writing, I think whatever I manage  surely makes me happy anyways 🙂 Last week a reader asked me whether it is the number of likes on my page or my blog that makes me happy. I did not refuse but added and corrected her by conveying it is the sharing part that gives me immense joy. Likes or comments, do motivate me but the fact that I share my passion with my readers is a pleasant feeling!

Here is how I baked the cake today :

Bake a normal base cake/any flavour you like using the measures:

IMG_0425

Plain flour 220g

Castor Sugar 220g

Butter 220g

Eggs 4

Baking powder 1.5 tsp

Vanilla essence few drops(In this case I added powdered cardamom)

Sieve the flour with the raising agent.Keep aside.

Cream the butter and sugar. Add the eggs, one at a time. Beat.

To this add the sieved flour spoonful at a time and fold.

To the finished mix add the essence.

Preheat oven at 180 degrees and bake the cake till done(My oven needs 40 mins to do the job)

When done, keep aside to cool for 20 mins. Normally the cake leaves the sides of the tin. If not, scrape the sides loose with a sharp knife and overturn. Let the cake cool completely. Slice the cake into two equal portions. Place the lower layer of the cake and using a spoon spread milk . After layering with cream on this layer, add in the chopped fresh fruits of your choice and an extra topping of fresh cream if you desire on it and place the second layer of the cake. Spread the milk on this layer too. Now decorate the cake as you wish. Instead of milk you may use sugar syrup to moisten the sponge.

Ketki fresh cream strawberry

To decorate with cream

IMG_0431

Whip double cream/whipping cream with icing sugar(I usually take 285 ml of cream mixed with 1.5 tbsp of icing sugar)

IMG_0432

When whipped, fold in any flavours of your choice. Use this cream to layer the cake and decorate as you wish. Top the cake with fruits of your choice.

IMG_0442

some links to fresh cream cakes I have baked and decorated so far as follows :

https://isingcakes.wordpress.com/2011/12/27/fresh-cream-pineapple-cake/

https://isingcakes.wordpress.com/2010/11/21/pineapple-delight/

https://isingcakes.wordpress.com/2010/11/20/berry-angel/

https://isingcakes.wordpress.com/2010/10/01/rush-rush-pineapple-cake/

https://isingcakes.wordpress.com/2011/12/04/anniversary-fresh-fruit-cake-bake-a-thon-day-4/

https://isingcakes.wordpress.com/2010/08/19/

Leave a Reply

