Baked Mishti Doi Tart


Mishti Doi is probably one of the first few desserts I tasted as a toddler. The sweet caramel taste in the yoghurt remains locked in my taste buds…until my next visit to Kolkata…which is very close. I am absolutely excited about this trip to Kolkata and Shantiniketan. It will be so good to revisit childhood and check out the favourite nooks and corners of those sweet days…my home, school, my mates, my favourite jhalmuri wala, puchka wala, Golpark, Gariahat market, lush green maidan, those taana rikshaws, visiting my dance class and my favourite teacher…Ms. Sachdev! I was absolutely pleased last Frida when I got the news that our flight tickets were booked!! I felt blessed by Kaviguru Robindronath Thakur for the fact that the tickets were booked on Pochishe Boishakh, his birth anniversary! What more could I ask for!! I feel absolutely blessed!!Ravindranath Tagore

Recently, Sayantani posted her nolen gurer doi and I was hooked on to it like anything! I had made this baked mishti doi with the palm jaggery at home for a week. Next I made it with some berries!! Frankly, there is not dessert as easy as this if you have the 3 ingredients, flavour to add and a good oven!! Check out my mishti doi pictures followed by the amazing tart I made this week…

Mishti doi tart 2

To make the pastry shell(I followed Delia Smith’s method)

110 g of plain flour

50g of butter

Cold water enough to make a smooth dough

The butter was cubed and rubbed in the flour lightly with my finger tips. One trick to encorporate air is rather handy in this method. As we rub the butter in flour, the flour is lifted up and allowed to fall back in the bowl. To make the pastry crumbly start by adding a tablespoon of cold water, gradually increasing to make the dough.  Once the dough is ready, cling film it and place it in the fridge to chill for half an hour. Roll the pastry on a dusted surface and place it in the tart tin.  Press the dough into the corners of the tin using your fingers. Leave the edges for now. Chill for 30 mins. Preheat oven to 200C. Fill the pastry case with a circular sheet of baking paper and add beans to weigh it down. Bake for about 20 mins, then carefully remove the paper and beans and cook the pastry for 5 mins more. It is now that the edges can be trimmed off the excess pastry using a small sharp knife.

Mishti doi tart

 

For doi I used a cup of thick yoghurt, 1 cup of mango pulp and roughly 100gm of condensed milk. Whisk all the ingredients and pour in slightly cooled tart shell baked earlier. If you are not using the tart pastry shell, you may fill this in ramekins or oven proof containers. Bake for about 30 mins at 110 degrees. Leave in the oven for about couple of hours. You may serve after it comes to room temperature or get it chilled before placing in plates.

Options:

Pancha khadya yogurt spells yum for me! 

All one needs to do is dissolve a quarter cup of jaggery in water by heating. Add in a couple of tablespoons of pancha khadya to the rest of the ingredients. Lo behold the beautiful yogurt is ready to go in thr oven. 

For the jaggery taste, I used about 1/4 cup of grated palm jaggery and dissolved in a tablespoon of water by heating. Once dissolved, it was whisked in the yoghurt and condensed milk mixture, before placing in the oven.

img_4194

For strawberry flavoured yogurt:

Purée strawberry and add to the mix before placing in the oven.


For Rose flavour, add in rose extract and Rose syrup at handand  follow the same instructions.

 

3 thoughts on “Baked Mishti Doi Tart

Leave a Reply

