All happens in a circle…spiral jalebi!


As you continue to send out love, the energy returns to you in a regenerating spiral…here’s jalebi for the dear ones today 🙂 I am back blog world!!

Jalebi

Some of you might be wondering where in the world am I! Well, I have been very much around. There are so many blog posts half typed, others which are waiting to be published, but oh! for a perfect photograph(may I blame the English weather for this) and for the last couple of months it is because of my personal commitments! My frail in-laws need my attention at the moment, hence I need to take it easy at blog front. There has been loads of cooking going on in the kitchen..infact I wake up in the wee hours to prepare the meals for the day. By the time the whole world gets read for the breakfast, my lunch is all set on the kitchen platform and the half prepped dinner sits on the gas stove. This I leave it until I am back from work.

Half term break has just arrived as a welcome respite for me. I hope to clear all my drafts and finish a couple of reviews. Today, I will share my first attempt with the instant jalebi. Jalebis’ have been my all time favourites since childhood. Come Diwali, Dasshehra, Holi any Indian festival…jalebis’ are seen at most of the sweet marts and even at some homes.The most desired sweet served in most of the marathi wedding “pangat” (feast) needs loads of time, patience and skills with the batter and the piping!! I had never tried the the traditional way. Here is a quick instant one…just to give it a try….

All it needed was:

Batter made from

1 cup of plain flour

1 tsp of besan(gram flour)

1 tsp of ghee

1 tsp of sugar

1/2 tsp of fast acting yeast

food colour(yellow/orange)

2/3 cup water

Oil to fry

Sugar syrup made of:

a cup of sugar simmered with equal quantity of water and a squeeze of lemon juice(1/2 tsp). Few saffron strands.

Prepare the batter by mixing in all the ingredients apart from the yeast. Mix the yeast in 1/2 tbsp of warm water and 1/4 tsp of sugar.

Mix the yeast when it proves into the batter. Make the batter with 2/3 or slightly more water. While preparing the batter, one needs to make sure that no lumps are formed. Rest the batter for 15-20 mins.

While the batter is resting, prepare the sugar syrup. Let it simmer and get thick enough. This will help the jalebis’ soak and coat.

Once the batter is ready, you may use a ketchup squeezy bottle or a ziplock bag to swirl the jalebis’ in oil. I used my good old piping bag and  the thinnest nozzle I had.

Heat oil in a pan to fry the jalebis’. Once the piping bag is filled and the oil is hot enough, squeeze the batter in the oil in a swirling motion to create spiral jalebis’ One needs to make sure that the swirl ends are not left loose or else the jalebis’ might open in the oil. Fry the jalebis’ till lightly golden brown and crisp. Drain them off the oil and place them in hot syrup to soak. You may fry multiple jalebis’ at a time if your pan allows.

I love my jalebis’ while the are warm and not to say they taste equally good when cold.

Kamalabai states the traditional recipe in her book Ruchira. The recipe needs yogurt/curd to ferment the batter a day in advance. She even suggests using semolina in place of plain flour or using equal quantities of semolina and flour. The batter needs time to ferment. Hence needs to be prepared a day in advance.

If you are wondering about the single photograph I have posted here, the reason being obvious..the jalebis’ were delicious and as I soaked them in sugar syrup..they vanished from the bowl..till I clicked this sole spiral in my hand!!  The almost see through jalebi were delicious folks!! I have plans to make them again!!

3 thoughts on “All happens in a circle…spiral jalebi!

  1. love the Jalebis Preeti.. when I made them, I didnt add Besan may be thats why the color was lacking .. Should I make this when you come home 😉

Leave a Reply

