Assorted Pull Apart Bread


For the last few months, I was trying to make up my mind about my blog. I was thinking of keeping my blog and my facebook pages private. If you were to ask why? Well, recently, I had a very face to face argument(read harsh from the plagiarist’s side and polite from my side). When I reverted with reasons why they can’t use photos from other pages and of course google, I was asked to hunt down the rest of the plagiarists in the Marathi food bloggers world and then approach them. My page they think does not deserve those many people. It is such a challenge when you get a harsh revert from such robbers..after a hard days work, we cook or bake and photograph till we get the best picture, all our content and rights definitely deserve to be respected!! I had about 4-5 marathi pages which I thought were good..but no it was just a crowd of people stealing pictures from internet. So I am not following any of those. There are just a few of  marathi food bloggers who will remain my friends along with the rest who work hard towards this passion. My husband adviced me not to back off, ” it is them who need to back off and not you!” and hence, here  I am posting again. It is my humble request friends, if you see any such plagiarists, please report them to google/ facebook and dislike their page. Your support in this cause will help us fight them.


Now for the bread I baked during the weekend!! This is an assorted platter of pull apart bread, following Aparna Subramaniniam’s recipe for the challenge We Knead to Bake every month. I used, marathi red chillies thecha, garlic-coconut chutney and the third filling was Aparna’s cheese and onion.

bread 1

 


Here is her recipe:
Ingredients:

For the Dough:

1/2 cup warm milk
1 tsp sugar
2 tsp active dry yeast
2 3/4 to 3 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp salt
25gm butter, soft at room temperature
3/4 to 1 tsp garlic paste
3/4 cup milk (+ a couple of tbsp to brush over the bread)
For the Filling:
15 to 20gm melted butter
2 tsp dried Provencal or mixed herbs*
1 tsp crushed cumin seeds
Crushed pepper/ red chilli flakes to taste
1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese
Method:
I used my machine to knead the dough.In a small bowl, dissolve the sugar and the yeast in the 1/2 cup of warm milk. Keep aside for about 5 minutes till the yeast mixture bubbles up.
Put 2 3/4 cup of flour, salt, softened butter, and garlic paste in the food processor bowl (or a large bowl) and pulse a couple of times to mix. Then add the yeast mixture and the 3/4 cup of milk and knead till you have a soft, smooth and elastic/ pliable dough which is not sticky. Add a little extra flour if your dough is sticking,but only just as much as is necessary.

Shape the dough into a ball and place it in a well-oiled bowl, turning the dough to coat itcompletely with oil. Cover and let it rise for about 1 to 1 1/2 hours or untilalmost double in volume.
Dust your work surface lightly with flour. Deflate the dough, shape it into a square and rollthe dough out into a larger square that is about 12’ by 12”. Brush the surfaceof the square with the melted butter.

Evenly sprinkle the herbs, pepper/ chilli flakes and the cumin seeds and then the grated cheese. Use a rolling pin to very lightly press the topping into the dough to ensure the topping doesn’t fall off when you are stacking the strips (#1)

bread2

 

For other breads, the fillings I used were:

1.I used red chilli thecha which is a ground chutney which every marathi person savours with bhakri/roti. It is a mix of either green or red chillies, garlic, salt and sometimes other spices to enhance it’s taste.

bread 4

2. Garlic- Coconut chutney(dry) with red chilli powder. I must say..this was amazing with a cup of tea!! Regarding the garlic-coconut chutney, I would like to stress, I used Bedekar’s Lasun-khobre chutney.

bread 3

Using a pizza cutter, slice the dough from top to bottom into 6 long and even strips – they do nothave to be perfect. Lay each strip on top of the next, with the topping facing upwards, until you have a stack of the strips (#2)
You can put the 2 strips cut from the sides in the middle of the stack so it looks neater. Using a pastry scraper or a sharp knife, cut straight down through the stack dividing it into 6 equal pieces (6 square stacks). I shaped them in different ways, some  I joined at the bottom to fuse them like a fan, others, I just spiralled them in the tin. Since I do not have a loaf tin, I used a muffin tin. Grease and lightly flour muffin tin. Place each piece in it. Cover it for an hour with a wet tea towel.
Bake the dough at 180C (350F) for about 30 to 40 minutes until it is done and the top is golden brown.

I have rarely baked bread since I have started blogging. However, because of Aparna, I will be able to post a bread recipe every month this year!! Yay!! thank you Aparna for accepting my late entry:)

6 thoughts on “Assorted Pull Apart Bread

Leave a Reply

