Lemony Cornmeal and wholewheat flour cake


Yay!! It is the last day of the year and the last day to post for Bakethon!Thank you Champa for organising this event. Although, I have been super tied up with the kids at home, dance and drama practices for Sankranti/Pongal festival, I managed switching the oven on everytime Bakethon days were scheduled. My only regret is I have not managed visiting other bakers in this task at all. I am totally bad when it comes to visiting others. My new year’s resolution is to get better in networking with my fellow bloggers. My sincere apologies my fellow bloggers!

Last year, I baked huge number of cakes, mostly decorated with butter or fondant. This year however, you may have noticed a subtle change in my posts..both baking and cooking. I am trying to make them as healthy and simple as possible. R had to go through a health issue recently. The whole incident seems to have woken my senses up towards health and healthy aspects of eating.

In 2013, I plan to go bake and cook as much healthy as possible. I know, food encorporated with sugar and colours are much more appealing to eyes, however the appearances are posing as health hazard. A slight change in cooking methods and ingredients used can be equally enjoyed, I believe. My next aim is to cook as many recipes from Kamalabai Ogale’s Ruchira book and include it in Ruchira Videshini section of my blog. I started Ruchira Videshini page on Facebook and added this section to my blog in this year.

As I bid adieu to 2012, I recall all the good things which have happened to us as a family. I am absolutely thankful to God to have kept me positive through out the year. Yes, we have had our shares of ups an downs but we have managed to shun all the negativeness and come out happy. We moved into our new house in April, I have made a comeback on stage with dancing, we had glimpses of Olympics in London, I went visiting a group of bloggers in London and we are churning out a big event very soon next year. Also, I got a ticket to visit Cake and Bake Show in London and enjoyed the day thoroughly!!  Very recently, I had an opportunity  to shoot two episodes for cookery show “Aapke Kitchen Mein” which is aired on Sunrise TV! Now, I would say, that is more than what I had dreamt of. Hence a big thank you to the Lord and you all my dear friends who keep me motivated every time. I hope you all have a very happy and a prosperous New Year!DSC_0003

To end this year with a positive note, I am posting a cake baked with cornmeal and wheat flour. I have a tiny 4″ round cake tin which my colleague gave as a Christmas present. I used the tin to bake this cake. I totally love this tin as it bakes the right size of cake which we intend to eat. So a big Thank you E!!

For this bake, i used my sheer judgement in the measures.

1/4 cup fine cornmeal

2 tbsp whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking powder

3 tbsp castor sugar

2 tbsp butter

1 egg

Milk 2 tbsp

lemon juice of half a lemon

Cream the butter and sugar together in a bowl. Add in the egg and keep beating till nice and fluffy.  Sieve the flours and baking powder together. Add the flour mixture to the butter-sugar-egg mix.  Mix well. Use the milk to loosen the batter.  Finally add the lemon juice and mix.

Preheat oven at 180 degrees. Pour the batter in a greased cake tin. This batter is enough for a 4″ round cake tin and I had very good results. Bake the cake for 30 mins or till done.  Cool on a cooling rack and enjoy!

Cornmeal-Wholewheat cake

Check out the other bakers in this bakethon Champa, Srivalli, Priya, Sumana, Veena, Jayshri.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Lemony Cornmeal and wholewheat flour cake

  1. Had a beautiful Bakeathon with you Preeti, seriously am loving this beautiful cake, can guess the texture of this cake.Happy new year wishes to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

