Savoury spiced cookies


The holiday spirit had set in quite so well…everyone of us out there are catching up with all the bits to set the right yuletide mood. At work, we are all busy with the Christmas concert and finishing off all the bits for the term with  “nearly there” feeling. However, last weekend..I had a bad time coping up with the terrifying act of shooting in Connecticut. It was just difficult to process the fact that 20 young souls and the staff members in a  elementary school were shot. It sent shivers down me. This is certainly not the type of world, I grew up in!! How could anyone carry out such a deed?! All I said to myself all day was “It is any parent’s nightmare..poor babies! This definitely is not the world I grew up in! Saddens me to the limits!!” Life is so much unpredictable!! All my confidence seems to have shattered since this event. The 20 young babies and their parents have been in my mind day and night. Our children are the most innocent beings in the world. Why should they be the targets! I do not feel like posting any recipes after this event, but, since life must go n, I am trying to keep things are normal in my family and at work..or else I do not think I could cope.  I just hope the world does not turn into a cruel place. Let us all pray for the innocent children who were taken away from their mums and dads for no fault at all! May their souls rest in peace!

I had made these savoury cookies using coriander, mint and curry leaves and chilli flakes. I used about a tablespoon of this mix of chopped corainder, mint and curry leaves. The greens of these leaves and the red chilli flakes(1.5 tsp)  made a good combination and added to a perfect flavours. This I added to

DSC_1057

1 and 1/2 cups of plain flour

1/2 cup butter

1 tsp sugar

1 tsp of baking powder

salt to taste

yogurt to make the dough.

DSC_1056

Mix the dry ingredients and add in the chopped leaves and chilli flakes. Use just enough yogurt to form a good dough. This dough should not be too soft, or else rolling it out will be difficult. Cover the dough with a damp cloth for 15 mins.

Roll out the dough in thin flat rotis'(Indian bread) and use cookie cutters to cut cookies. Using a fork, poke the cookies.  Bake the cookies in a preheated oven at 170 degrees for 15-20 mins. This needs baking on both the sides till nice and crisp.

DSC_1059Champa, Priya, Srivalli, Sumana and Jayshri. Ladies, I haven’t visited you all, but I will once, i am done with this week. Veena get well soon. Apologies!!

4 thoughts on “Savoury spiced cookies

  1. It sure is a very very sad incident…. I too have been feeling bad about all those kids and their parents….. Leaves me with a question – where is the world heading??

  2. It took three days for me to get out from that tragedic incident, cant imagine the pain of those family May their soul rest in peace.

    Spiced cookies, love them with a simple herbed cream cheese,loving it.

Leave a Reply

