Ruchira inspired Shrewsbury biscuits(Semolina-Cinnamon cookies)


DSC_1016For those who have just joined me, I would like to share my new venture. I am going through a marathi cookery book Ruchira and trying my best to recreate Kamalabai Ogale’s recipes in my English kitchen with few tweaks if at all needed in case the resources are not available or presenting them in a different way on the table in oppose the traditional way. I have facebook page for the same called Ruchira Videshini.  To be honest, I am enjoying going through all the recipes which were probably written down in 1950s. As I read through Kamalabai’s recipes in her bread and biscuits section, these Shrewsbury biscuits caught my eyes. All I could recall about was the melt in mouth Shrewsbury biscuits from Kayani Bakery in Camp, Pune!! I remember, I would wait for my turn in the queue in the huge rush at the store just to get hold of 250g or 500g of these . I thought, possibly, that’s what Kamalabai tried creating back in those days..as Kayani’s I believe have been there on the street for ages.  However, these turned out to be quite different, but amazingly yummy. For more about Kayani’s read here.  I am not sure why Kamalbai’s called these Shrewsbury biscuits but here is what the recipe demands. I halved the quantities from the original.

 

DSC_1014

Flour, butter, sugar, mawa and milk. Combine the dry ingredients and sieve all together. Add in butter and mawa(or condensed milk). Use milk to make a dough. Wrap this dough and keep it aside for 3-4 hours. Bash this dough with a pestle/rolling pin. It is kind of sticky but comes together when you grease your palms with oil. Roll the dough and cut different shapes of your choice or roll into small balls. Place these on a greased baking sheet. Bake in a preheated oven at 175 degrees for about 10 mins.

Check out other bakers in Bakethon 2012:

Sumana with her post

Priya with her post

Veena’s post

Srivalli’s post

and of course Champa

Ammonia used is the baking ammonia which causes a chemical reaction to raise the cookies/cakes. Ammonia which is NH3 when heated will give H2O and CO2 and the latter will aid raising the bakes

8 thoughts on “Ruchira inspired Shrewsbury biscuits(Semolina-Cinnamon cookies)

  1. My mom used to bake cookies – what she used to call Nan Khatai then, with Ammonia. My parents used to get it from one baker friend they knew, who had a bakery in Basavanagudi, Bangalore. She says she hasn’t found it anywhere else… Quoting her, it does smell bad when mixing with the dough, but once baked, there is absolutely no smell, may be with some reactions. The cookies with Ammonia spreads much larger than Baking Soda/Powder, and gives a very light, crispy texture.

Leave a Reply

