Khobryache Anarse(Coconut cookies with no flour!!)…Eureka


All major religious traditions carry basically the same message, that is love, compassion and forgiveness the important thing is they should be part of our daily lives….Dalai Lama
It has been a long week for me. First day at work, I tripped as I stepped down a step and hurt my ankle. I  did not take it seriously. However, the pain hardly subsided. I could walk but with a limp and carried out my regular routine. I believe, pain is a subjective phenomenon. That is possibly because work, cooking kept me distracted however as I sat down to relax, my foot gave in! I was adviced to rest it for a week and let the injury heal naturally. Rest? well, I couldn’t if Diwali was fast approaching! I had to choose between my dance recital tomorrow and The BBC Good Food Show on Sunday! I ended up choosing the first. I am just keeping my fingers crossed that my foot doesn’t deceive me. I am sad about not being to make it to BGFS:(

 

Here is a work by Pandit Birju Maharaj which helped me make the right choice:

Jeevan ka arambh, Lay ka prarambh hai

Hriday ki taal par, ang-pratiang karya karta hai

Saans bhi nritya karti hai, kabhi dheere, kabhi shighratase

Har ang ko jagriti deti , stithi ke anusar

Jo jan lay ke gyan ko prapt kare, tar jaata hai

Na samjhe jeete ji mar jaate hai

Lay-Swar hi prakriti ka mul adhar hai

Hriday ne ankhon se kaha, tum so jao

Shareer ko bhi kaha, aaram karo

Mai swayam tum logon ki rakhwali karunga, mai nahi so sakta

Kitna vishal udar hai hriday- kyunki vo swayam Ishwar ki lay-gati ki chaya hai.

-Maharaj ji

I so wished to make Anaarse. However I wasn’t prepared for the week long toil of soaking rice, changing the water every day and further fermentation. I spoke to ajji and she suggested khobryache anaarse.  Khup fesaave lagel pun.. She suggested!! Amhi lahaan hoto tya veli chuli var tawa thevun, puja tyavar zaakan laavun var kolse thevun bhajaaicho. Tu kashi bhaajnar?  True that.. It sounded tricky!

It is not the traditional version which I normally had been eating back at home. The traditional recipe involves fermentation of  jaggery with washed dried and ground rice. The resultant dough is then rolled into small balls, flattened, topped with poppy seeds and then deep fried.

However, I found this rather quick Version mentioned in Ruchira. This involves the simple use of Dried coconut soaked in water and then grated. I used dessicated coconut instead which I soaked for about 15-20 minutes.


To follow the original recipe, you will need:

2 cups of grated dry coconut (I used dessicated coconut) soaked in water first and then grated otherwise.

1 cup confectioner’s sugar

1 tablespoon of cream(I used sour cream)

1/2 cup ghee(you may use butter)

Poppy seeds to top

Method: Once the coconut is grated(making sure not to use the dark shell), roast it lightly. Make sure the coconut does not change colour. Keep aside once done.

Preheat oven at 150 degrees C. Keep a cupcake pan handy. If you do not have a cupcake pan, use a normal baking sheet.

In a plate, pour the ghee. Using your palms, whisk it back and forth. This whisking changes the consistency and the colour of ghee. The ghee attains a pale colour. This is referred to as “fesne” in Marathi. To this add the sugar and slowly add the roasted coconut. Mix well. To this add the sour ghee and mix very well. Make small balls with the dough and flatten. Place these balls in each cupcake shell in the cupcake pan. Sprinkle and press some poppy seeds.

Bake these till the colour turns lightly golden. Keep a good watch as these anarse are rather delicate. Too less baking will break them. My batch took about 25-30 mins to bake completely.

Once baked, bring it out of the oven. Gently place each of these anarse on a cooling rack. They are nice and crisp by the time they cool.

Kamalabai’s recipe suggests using oven! Yes, I am absolutely amazed that way back in her days she tried exploring baking techniques too.

To me these are the simplest way to appease my cravings for anarse and an absolute EUREKA!! in my English Kitchen:)

These would make Healthy Finger Food for my Diwali Party next week.

I am sending these to some of the event happening around the blog world..including the one I am hosting for Priya.

I am sending this to another Priya🙂

And of course Nupur.

2 thoughts on “Khobryache Anarse(Coconut cookies with no flour!!)…Eureka

Leave a Reply

