Fiery Misal Pav in my English Kitchen


Misal-Pav literally meaning a mixture with bread which is savoured all over Maharashtra. It is one of the very, very high spice content dish… very famous in Kolhapur. Ideally, it is served with a thin curry with loads of chilli and spices. This curry called as kat or even tarri in local language personalises the whole dish as per the individuals likes. I have had Kolhapuri Misal, during my stay in Kolhapur. As I ate the fiery hot preparation, I soaked my hankerchief drying my eyes and my sweaty forehead. If I get to eat the same preparation today, I am sure I will not be able to eat but my husband still has the pallete for such high chilli heat content..he will enjoy it till the last morsel. You may serve this as a snack or even a meal.

If you are in UK, this preparation is available at Shri Krishna Vada Pav Centre in Hounslow. They even have a branch in Harrow now.  If you are keen on home made version, it is quite possible. It needs some time to prepare the masala(ground spices) and sprouting the moth seeds(matki) a couple of days in advance if living in a cold climate. You may even use moong sprouts or white peas.  Once the masala and sprouts are ready, it is very simple to prepare and put together Misal Pav.

To serve 4, you will need:

Misal masala, Cooked Sprouts, kat/tarri and buns to serve with

For the Misal Masala: Kamalabai Ogale suggests using kala masala. Instead, I made a misal masala using the following:

1 cup of coriander seeds

1 tablespoon of cumin seeds

1 tsp of poppy seeds

1 tsp of sesame seeds

1/4 cup of dessicated coconut

1/4 cup red chilli powder

1/2 onion,2 garlic cloves sautéed with a 2 teaspoonful of oil(sautéed till this goes brown). Cool this.  Dry roast the rest of the spices separately and cool. Grind this mixture of spices with the sautéed onion and garlic. This masala keeps well in an air tight container for a month.

For  tempering and cooking the sprouts you need:

Sprouted Moth beans   1 cup

Oil 1 tablespoon

Cumin seeds ½ tsp

Hing(asafoetida) a pinch

Turmeric ½ tsp

Chilli powder ½ tsp

Misal masala(prepare before hand) 1 tbsp

Tamarind pulp 1 tsp

Jaggery 1 tsp

Salt to taste

Make the tempering with oil, asafoetida and cumin seeds in a pressure cooker. Add in the sprouts and the rest of the ingredients. Mix . Add in 1.5 cups of water and pressure cook.

To make the Kat/tarri

Oil 1 tsp

Asafoetida a pinch

Cumin seeds ½ tsp

Turmeric ½ tsp

Red chilli pd 2 tbsp

Jaggery 1 tsp

Tamarind pulp 2 tsp

Salt to taste

Misal masala/ garam masala/kala masala(used in Marathi preparations)

In a pan, temper with a tsp of oil and cumin seeds. Add in the asafoetida. In a bowl, mix turmeric, misal masala,  red chilli pd, salt, jaggery and tamarind pulp. Add this mix to the tempering and stir. Add in 2 cups of water and let this simmer. You may add in more red chilli pd if you wish. Place this kat in a different bowl.

When  assembling:

Boiled potatoes(chopped)  2

Chopped tomatoes 1 cup

Chopped onion 1 cup

Chopped coriander ½ cup

Lemon chopped into quarters to serve

Bombay Mix and Shev as much or less you like

In a hollow serving dish, spoon two tablespoons of cooked sprouts. Add a tablespoon of Bombay mix. Top this with a few pieces of boiled potato, chopped onions and tomatoes .To this add a ladleful of prepared Kat. Garnish with coriander. Serve this with pav(buns) or bread.

Tips:

Sometimes Misal is also topped with beaten yoghurt or even bhajis’(pakoras).

Kamalabai Ogale suggests using different types of chutneys’ in a misal prepared with sprouted green peas. The three chutneys’ mentioned are:

Coconut chutney with green chillies

Tamarind-dates chutney

Dry coconut, dry chana and garlic chutney

Someday, I wish to take part in BBC Good Food shows featuring all our Indian traditional food. My new venture Ruchira Videshini on facebook, is where I wish to feature all our traditional recipes. I have always been fascinated how Rachel Allen puts up her simple recipes in her shows and makes them look so morish. I bake and cook a lot after I watch her shows. All my bakes and cakes are in my other page Isingcakes on facebook.It’s the same with Indian food….just not regular naans, tikka masalas’ and the balti dishes served in many restaurants in and around the world..but there are many more. There are so many unknown facts about thousands of recipes which can be served in such restaurants. I would like to bring these recipes in picture. Ruchira Videshini is a tiny step towards it. I watch television only to catch up with food channels especially BBC Good Food Shows…I had been waiting for The Great British Bake Off to start this year. I remember, I had almost sent an application for this years GBBO!! Well, backed off as getting a sabbatical from work would be difficult.  I try and catch up with as many of James Martin cookery shows possible too. Master Chef is another of my favourites and it’s just not me but the rest of the family are the audience to this show. We all are in admiration of Michel Roux and I personally am scared of Monica Galetti(now please do not mention that to her…she reminds me of my maths teacherJ) Greg and John make such a good pair of hosts….I absolutely love the way Greg enjoys the desserts…just like me.

I am linking this to event on my blog which is a humble giveaway of Ruchira book for best stylised Marathi food and finding recipes from different cuisines which resemble some Marathi recipes.

Jagruti has teamed up with BBC Good Food Show and has a giveaway for the BBC Good Food Show in London this year in November 9-11. This year the show is featuring The Wine Show. Jagruti is giving away tickets to this show. This year I have had the opportunity to meet a few Indian bloggers in London. Next month, I am planning to visit The Cake and Bake show too. I just hope to get the tickets to BBC Good Food Show too. My blog, my experiments in the kitchen and the interactions through my two pages on facebook have helped me love food. These shows I am sure will help me broaden my knowledge about food for sure.

4 thoughts on “Fiery Misal Pav in my English Kitchen

  1. I’m book marking it this one..droolworthy recipe hai yaar…:) Thanks for sharing a post about BBC GOOD FOOD SHOW !

  2. Pingback: Usal | ISingCakes

Leave a Reply

