Garam Masala


I had finished with my garam masala in my spice stock. Although, I am a Marathi and have been savouring all my vegetables and dals in Goda Masala since childhood, yet my move to UK has made this masala an essential part in my kitchen. It is always better to make your own fresh masala than the store bought one which has preservatives and the aromas vanish in no time.

I prepare a simple one to last me for a couple of months time or more. Plus I had a new member in my kitchen to help me. Check out my spice grinder…

I made 1/2 cup of this masala with this recipe:

4 tbsp Coriander seeds
2 tbsp Cumin seeds
1 tbsp Fennel seeds
1 tbsp Black Pepper/use half and couple of red chillies
1 tsp Nutmeg (ground)
1 Star anise
5-6 cardamoms
3-4 Black Cardamom
6-8 Cloves
2 pcs of Cinnamon(1 inch each)
3-4 Bay leaves


In a thick bottom pan/skillet toast the spices(excepting nutmeg) separately till they release slight aroma.
Once the spices just start to brown, transfer them immediately out of the pan and into a waiting bowl – their heat will keep the cooking and toasting process. If you wait until they are very toasted in the pan, they will become burnt and bitter once off the heat. Deseed the cardamoms. Cool and grind.
If the grinder does not grind to fine powder, you may sieve the masala.
Store in an air-tight jar.

Leave a Reply

