Khari puffs…Ultra Quick Ones


Does anyone remember those khari wallas’ carrying a tin dabba on their head…selling those kharis’ wrapped in newspaper? Everytime I visit the Asian stores and we pick a pack of khari, all my childhood memories creep in. These are salty, puff biscuits dotted with jeera(cumins) and ideal for dunking in teas(I am not going to bother about eeews from anyone..) yes, they melted in mouth .

I wanted to make the puff pastry, but had loads of jobs lined up in the last few days..I am scurrying around like a headless chicken at the moment! There is a big decision to be made in the next few days. Hence, I kept my bake nice and simple with a little cheating..with a store bought puff pastry!!

All you need is a puff pastry sheet thawed.

Cumin seeds roasted to sprinkle on top

Salt to sprinkle

Place the pastry sheet on a baking sheet. Sprinkle with roasted cumin seeds and salt and press. The seeds and salt need to be embedded in the pastry sheet. Additionally, you may add dried fenugreek leaves( I did not use as my last bake had these leaves as the main ingredient)

Cut the sheet into rectangles. Twist each rectangle once to give it a twisted puff look (like a bow).

Preheat the oven at 180 degrees Celsius. Bake these for 10-15 mins. My oven took 15 mins to create these scrumptious snacks.

Check my fellow bloggers in Bake-A-thon. We just have 2 more bakes and we have done it!!!

Priya, Veena and Champa.

One thought on “Khari puffs…Ultra Quick Ones

Leave a Reply

