Fenugreek Mathri(Savoury Crackers)


It is just a few more bakes till we finish Bake-A-thon. Check out Champa, Priya and Veena in this Bake-a-thon. Day 28 and I have thought of Mathri..which is a savoury cracker. This is a favourite snack for almost all the Indians. The best holiday food as well. One can make it specially healthy by avoiding plain flour and substituting it with whole wheat flour(which is what I have done). One of my uncle  had discussed this recipe when we chatted about Bake-a-thon. He mentioned that it was the favourite recipe which he and his dad loved making.So here is to cherish the father-son bonding…

Mathri needs:

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/4 cup chickpea flour

1 tsp onion seeds

1 tsp carrom seeds

1 tsp cumin seeds

1 tsp turmeric powder

1 tsp cumin powder

salt to taste

1 tbsp dried fenugreek leaves

1 tbsp oil(warm)

Preheat the oven at 180 degrees.

Add the warm oil in the flour and spice mix. Use enough water to prepare a soft dough. Keep it covered. Roll the dough flat. Prick with a fork all over and cut into circles with a cookie cutter. You may leave these on a tray to bake. Alternatively, fold each circle into half first and then quarter. Bake in the oven on a lined tray.

Enjoy these with spicy chutney or even ketchup. These would make ideal healthy Indian nachos. By the time I could post about Mathri…they have vanished from our platter!! My son said, “I thought, it is just for me and you all have some more in the kitchen”

Photographs: JPRD

Please vote for me here…..I am on 137th position

9 thoughts on “Fenugreek Mathri(Savoury Crackers)

  1. Another good one! I always used to wonder making savoury items in the oven rather than sugary ones! How long should this be baked? I have bookmarked few recipes to try! I will try and let you know! Thanks for sharing them.

  2. What temp should we bake this at? Mine have been in the oven at 180 for half an hour and not turning golden still..

    1. Hi Upasana, apologies I wasn’t ware of this comment it landed in the other folder. The oven needs preheating to 17 degrees and the baking at the same temperature. It may get too hard if you bake it for long though. I hope this helps.

  3. Too hard for anyone to chew.. i think the oven temp wasnt correct.. please mention at what temp do these need to be baked.

Leave a Reply

