Saffron blossoms


It has been an exciting day. I baked my 22nd bake quite early and was very please with the results. I however, needed to decide it’s name..a lovely name. Hence, I have sent the photograph to my family in India and am waiting for an apt name for the creation.

Meanwhile, I baked some bited size saffron cookies and am enjoying them with my custard this evening:) Hence these bite sized, delicate, saffron blossoms are my 22nd post instead. They are quite quick to bake and doesn’t much efforts. They however,make cute confetti for custards, ice-creams, even cupcakes:)


For this you will need:

Flour 1/2 cup
Cold butter little less than 1/4 cup
Saffron strands roasted in the microwave 1 tsp
Icing sugar 1 tbsp
Cold water just enough to put the dough together.
Rub the flour,butter, icing sugar together. Add the saffron strands and knead this into a dough with cold water. Cling film this and place it in the fridge for 15 mins.
Bring it out and roll it flat. Use any blossom cutter/flower cutter/ any cutter of your choice. Preheat oven at 180 degrees and bake for 10 mins.

Cool on a cooling rack and add an orange dot with food colouring if you like.

Please check out my fellow bloggers who have been consistent in this Bake-a-thon.
Priya
Champa
Veena

3 thoughts on “Saffron blossoms

Leave a Reply

