Aam-Kesar Delight


I had baked these  tarts last day, however, I waited till I could decide it’s name. Since, I had put in such good efforts, I thought it deserves a decent name as well. I was at loss of names…I thought I couldn’t address it as a simple tart… or.. mango tart. I had a cheeky plan. I sent the photograph home and asked all my relatives to guess the ingredients and to decide a fancy name it deserves. I had no other choice but to adopt the pace of nature:  whose secret is patience.

This is a unique combination of two types of flavours and textures. This is made of two parts:
Tart:
Which requires…..
200g plain flour
100g cold butter cut in cubes
2 tablespoons of icing sugar
1 tsp of roasted saffron strands.
Ice cold water to knead it into a dough.
Rub the flour,butter, icing sugar together. Add the saffron strands and knead this into a dough with cold water. Cling film this and place it in the fridge for 30 mins.
Bring it out and roll it flat. Use any round cutter and cut out circles.Place them in a greased cupcake tray.Using a fork, pierce it at the centre. This will avoid it from rising. Top it with grease proof paper circles and top it with beans.When you bake it covered with greaseproof paper and beans, it is referred to as blind-baking. Preheat oven at 180 degrees and blind-bake for 15-20 mins.Take off the paper and beans. Continue baking for another 5 mins.Cool the tarts on a cooling rack.

Mango sheera(pudding)
For sheera you need to follow my recipe for semolina sheera. All you need to add is a pulp of mango. I have used a can of mango pulp for 1.5 cups measure of semolina. Please vary other ingredients accordingly. I reduced the quantity of sugar as well by 1/2. You may also use some mint leaves and saffron strands.

Once done, cool the sheera. Fill in the tart and garnish with chopped pistachios. I used my favourite blossom cutter to cut out few sheera blossoms to top them on the filled tarts.  You may shape/cut into any form you like:)Use mint leaves and saffron strands to decorate as you like.

And yes, before I forget, all the photographs in my posts have always been photographed by my son, P…..he is too shy to  let this be mentioned in any of my posts. However, now, I believe, he needs his due recognition. Hence forth I will always make sure that I mention his initials JPRD( J for junior …PRD are my initials as well:))

Check out what my other bloggers have been upto today. Veena, Champa and Priya.

 

7 thoughts on “Aam-Kesar Delight

  1. Why do you like torturing us :-(??????????? Aaam is my favorite….don’t even get all those mangoes here that are so common in Bengal, India :-(…………anything mango, I can eat continuously…

Leave a Reply

