Baked Bakarwadi


Bakarwadis’ are savoury..sometimes fiery hot.. snacks which every Marathi household enjoys to the fullest. Amongst the best available in Maharashtra and all around are Chitale’s Bakarwadi. I have plans to bake and experiment Indian snacks and dishes during this Bakethon. Trust me so far all the Indian bakes, namely, Chivda, Karanji, Onion Bhaji, Samosa, Chirote and now Bakarwadi have turned out to be delish and devoured. I can hardly save them for my friends who visit me. 

Bakarwadi is made of chickpea dough with a part of wheat flour. A filling(masala) is prepared and spread over the rolled dough. This is then rolled and cut into slices. Typically, these are deep fried and savoured during tea.

I own a book, Ruchira written by Kamlabai Ogale(my dear friend R gifted this book just before my wedding..when I could hardly cook rice!! 🙂 ) Any Marathi girl getting married would follow this book back then..well not sure now. I have followed the recipe for Bakarwadi from this book. Apart from tweaking it with Kasuri methi instead for fresh coriander and halving the quantities, I have followed everything the recipe mentions.

You will need:

Dough:

1 cup chickpea flour

1/2 wheat flour

2 tablespoons of hot oil

1/2 tsp of salt

Mix all this together and make a tight dough with water. Keep it aside covered.

Masala(Filling):

1/2 cup Toasted sesame seeds and some more for sprinkling

1/4 cup roasted dessicated coconut

1/2 cup of kasuri methi

1 tsp of red chilli powder

1 tsp of goda masala(typical marathi spice..you may add garam masala instead)

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp sugar

1 tsp tamarind pulp

2 tablespoons oil(I used olive oil)

Grind everything together and keep aside.

To put together the dough and masala:

Halve the dough and roll it out flat in a circle.  Spread half of the masala. Sprinkle some sesame seeds .Roll from one edge and finish by applying water to stick the end. Slice the roll and brush with some olive oil and roll in sesame seeds. Arrange on a baking sheet lined with parchment. Bake at 180 degrees C for 15 mins.

Check out the Bakeathon members Champa, Veena and Priya for their 21st post.

15 thoughts on “Baked Bakarwadi

  1. I tried these lovely snacks yday and it turned out pretty good. Need to perfect it though. I could make 3 circles with the same proportion. Hence, had to make second batch of masala. I also tried with peanuts instead of sesame seeds. This is definetely a very healthy snack which feels full. I tried so many of them myself in the name of tasting! Imagine.

    This inspires me to try other baked snacks! Want to make samosa’s now.

Leave a Reply

