Baked Samosas’


Day 20 of Bake-a-thon…..my sister’s birthday, my 6 year old niece got a special mention for her art skills on a A Hundred Hands…..half a day gone in enthusiasm…then it takes a turn…a baking disaster first, then the camera goes missing!!! Nooo!!

I haven’t found my camera yet. I thought of my cell phone, unfortunately, I do not own the best ones to click good pictures.   My laptop has a camera, however, it was tricky holding the dish and clicking. My son came up with an idea…he used his laptop and attached a portable webcam and helped me click. My 13year old baby:)My saviour! He has been my official photographer every time I churn out things in my kitchen…yes, all the pictures you see are his skills. What would I do without him.Do mention about his photography please!!

Well after the baking disaster, I quickly gathered my spirits and baked these samosas’ which teamed up with my dinner as a good starter.

For this you will need:

2 Boiled potatoes chopped into small cubes( do not boil it too much..we do not want mashed potatoes to fill)

1/2 cup of green peas

1 teaspoon ginger-garlic paste

1 teaspoon each of cumin and coriander powder

1.5 teaspoon of garam masala

Salt to taste

1/2 teaspoon Cumin seeds

A pinch of Asafoetida

1.5 tablespoons oil for tempering.

1.5 teaspoon Dry mango powder

Prepare the filling:

In a pan heat heat oil and prepare tempering with cumin seeds. Add Asafoetida.Mix in ginger-garlic paste.Add the green peas and potatoes. Add salt and mix. Cover and let it cook for 5 mins. Uncover and add cumin-coriander and dry mango powder. Let the filling cool.

I did not add chilli powder or green chillies as my son doesn’t like it spicy. If you like, you may either add 1 tsp of red chilli powder or 2 deseeded chopped green chillies after adding ginger-garlic paste.

For the cover:

1 cup of plain flour

2 tablespoons of semolina

3 tablespoons of oil

Just enough lukewarm water to knead the dough tight. Cling film the dough and keep aside for 15 mins.

Knead the dough again to make it smoother. Roll a small piece of dough into a circle. Cut the circle into half(you will get two semi-circles) Using water to brush the edges of each semi-circle, fold the semi-circle and press to form a cone. Fill in potato filling, just enough to fill the cone, allowing enough edge to wrap the free end of the cone. Keep it covered while you fill in all the samosas’.

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees C and bake for 15-20 mins.

Relish with cut salad, green coriander-mint chutney or even a simple tomato ketchup.

Check out my fellow bloggers in Bake-a thon :

Priya, Veena,Champa.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Baked Samosas’

Leave a Reply

