Pineapple fruit cake


This morning, I scurried around my kitchen preparing a Pineapple Christmas Cake which I had I decided to bake for long. I collected this recipe from A at work. She had arranged a demonstration as well, but I missed it….however, A is such a kind lady…she  gave me the recipe as well as the explanation regarding it’s preparation. The only thing worried me is that my son is allergic to any drink. I have asked him not to eat this cake..so keeping a strict eye on him at the moment! I have promised him with a non-alcoholic one:)

According, I prepared my fruits and pineapple in Brandy last night. A had adviced about washing the fruits(except pineapple) in hot water. Then soaking the fruits and the undrained pineapple in brandy. Also, there was a strong advice on using bread flour instead of plain flour as it holds on to the fruits very well.

For this you will need:

225g butter

1cup sugar

1/2 tsp of vanilla

1/2 tsp lemon essence

1 tsp each of cinnamon,ground ginger, mixed spices

1/4 tsp of nutmeg

3 cups of bread flour

6 eggs

1.5 kg of mixed fruits, raisins and sultanas

1 can of crushed pineapple

Blanched almonds and cherries(I didn’t have any)

1/4 cup Brandy(optional)

I used an 8inch tin. Measure alll the spices and flour and set aside. Cream butter , sugar and essesnces until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time with a spoonful of flour mixture after each to prevent curdling. Add prepared fruit and pineapple to remaining flour and mix.

Press evenly into prepared tin. Use almonds and cherries to decorate the top. Bake at 150 degrees C for 1.5 hours and then at 130 degrees C for 1.5 hours. Yes, it does need the time to cook with all these fruits in. Once bakes, sprinkle with brandy if you desire.

Now this cake turned out to be so soft and moist that it didn’t wait to be cut sophistically, we just managed big grabs of the same…check the big chunk on the plate!!

I made a quick trip to Windsor this afternoon to Candy Cake..check the pictures…I just loved that place:)

Check my fellow bloggers in this bakethon: Priya, Veena and Champa.

4 thoughts on “Pineapple fruit cake

Leave a Reply

