Sun-dried Tomatoes, Basil and Onion Bread


Here is another bread which I attempted.  I think I am getting brave with every bake in this Bakethon, especially when a bread is baked. Thanks to you Champa…Bakethon has given me an opportunity to stretch my mind and think out of the box. It is just not cookies and cakes, I am trying to get hold of different techniques to be used in my baking. Right from the simplest of mixing, whisking, folding and loads of others. Today, I have baked a bread with sun-dried tomatoes, basil and red onions. Yes, another yeast attempt from my side and loads of kneading done.

Partly followed Paul Hollywood’s recipe and added onions and basil to experiment. For the original recipe please refer here. This is how I worked it out:

Strong flour 500g

salt 1 tsp

Sun-dried tomatoes 50g

basil(I used my home grown handful of these)

Red onion chopped in moon shape 1/2

Olive oil 50ml

dry yeast 1 sachet(7 g)

warm water to prove the yeast

sugar 1 tsp

water 200 ml

First prove the yeast with warm water and sugar. Keep it aside. Mix all the ingredients apart from the onions, sun-dried tomatoes and basil.  Add yeast into the flour mix and knead with your hands to get a smooth, shiny dough. Cling film and set aside for 1 hour.

Add the sun-dried tomatoes and basil to the dough and arrange the red onions on the dough.Place on a baking sheet in a warm place to prove again for an hour. Bake at 220 degrees for half an hour. Once baked, cool on a cooling rack.

 

Check out my fellow bloggers and their posts Veena, Priya and Champa.

One thought on “Sun-dried Tomatoes, Basil and Onion Bread

Leave a Reply

