Naan


I don’t want a lot for Christmas 
There’s just one thing I need 
I don’t care about the presents 
Underneath the Christmas tree 
I just want you for my own 
More than you could ever know 
Make my wish come true 
All I want for Christmas is… 
You …..my holidays!!!

At Christmas, all roads lead home..right:)

Yes, I have been waiting for ages for this break….at last it has arrived. After a hectic week of Christmas cards, gifts wrapped, decorations in classroom, sweets, cakes, drinks, Christmas dinner and disco and of course two weeks of Bakethon contributions rushed in…..finally I can relax and think of more better bakes to try:) These holidays, I have plans to clear loads of clutter in my house and plan for the next term. I hope I manage that or else, all I will do is go lazy!! And guess what, as mentioned earlier on facebook page…my alarm clock is drastically going to be jealous of my relationship with my bed from tomorrow!!!

Tonight, I have a lovely dinner waiting on the table. Basmati rice tempered with cumins, ghee, coriander and green chilly, daal tarka, mix vegetable curry, salad and naan!!! Join in please.

Naan is a tandoor or clay oven baked flat bread which has been leavened. Now tandoor is out of reach in UK, hence, I decided to bake them in my baking buddy”my oven”.

For this you will need….

Plain flour 4 cups

Yeast 2.5 teaspoons

Sugar 1 teaspoon

Salt 1 teaspoon

Oil 2 tablespoons

Milk 1 cup and some more possibly to mix in

Water(warm for proving the yeast) 1/2 cup

In a medium sized bowl, prove the yeast with sugar and warm water. Add the salt. Once proved, add in a cup of milk. In another larger bowl, add the flour. Make a well and add in the liquid mix of yeast, oil and milk. Mix in to form a soft dough. This is surely very sticky. But do not worry, this is what we are looking for to bake in an oven. Cover and set aside to rise for half an hour.

Preheat the oven to the maximum. Grease your hand with oil. Make small balls using some dry flour and flatten using rolling pin. Roll it into a rough round shape and pull at one end lightly…to create a naan shape. Place on a greased baking sheet and bake by placing it nearest to the heat. It should not take more than 5 mins to bake one side if preheated properly. It actually puffs up. Once puffed, turn it oven to bake the other side just for couple of minutes. Bring it out and lash it with butter….tada…butter naan is ready:))

Follow the pictures step wise for the procedure:

Risen dough
Rolling the dough ball
Pull at one end
Bake in the oven
Spread Butter

Check out my Bakethon bloggers as well:

Priya, Veena, Champa.

One thought on “Naan

  1. Honuman Here – Jai Guru! I am going to try it out this weekend :-). Thanks for the recipe. But, what will be the temperature of the oven? Shon, please send some of your that dinner to me. Also, write out your recipes for that basmati rice tempered with cumin and daal tarka and mix veg curry. I cook those – but mine turns out to be Bengali style; I prefer the non-Bengali style.

Leave a Reply

