Oven Roasted Chivda


Bakethon day 10 and there has been pretty good contribution from everyone. I am so glad, I have so many amazing friends in the virtual world. I have never met them before, but they make such a huge contribution my my life. It is not just having a blog or a page on FB that makes me so happy but millions of little things I get inspired by following Finely Chopped, Sams Kitchen, Chef in Disguise, a homemakers diary(Sayantani). Plus all my fellow bloggers in Bakethon!! Your cooking, bakings, photographs, travelogues, food chats and stories stretch my mind and give it a wonderful dimension. I am glad I know your pages and look forward to more.

Today, I have got loads to catch up. Since Bakethon allows anything baked/done in the oven, I though of posting oven roasted chivda. I had prepared this during Diwali. Since it was a less oil, healthy eating Diwali in our family, I thought of trying this way out using oil just for frying the other ingredients.

For this you will need:

Thin Poha 2 kg

Oil for frying the following ingredients:

Curry leaves as many or as less you love

Peanuts 1 cup

Cashews 1 cup

Dehydrated onions fried(optional)

Crushed garlic fried (optional)

Red chillies 2-3

Potato far fars 1 pack

Tempering:

Mustard seeds 2 tsp

Turmeric powder 2 tsp

Carom seeds 1 tsp

asafoetida 1 tsp

Cumin powder 1.5 tbsp

Coriander powder 3 tbsp

Oil for tempering

Salt  to taste

and sugar 1 tsp

Chaat masala 2 tsp

Fry the peanuts, curry leaves, cashews, onions, red chillies separately and drain on tissue paper.

Preheat the oven to 160 degrees C. In two roasting pans, spread the thin pohas and roast till crisp. This will take about 20-25 mins. Once the pohas are roasted, add in the fried ingredients apart from the tempering ingredients.

Tempering:

Heat oil just under the smoking point. Add in the mustard seeds till they splutter. Add the asafoetida and carom seeds.  Add cumin and coriander powder. Turn the heat off and add salt and sugar.

Mixing:

Add the tempering to the roasted pohas and the fried ingredients.  add the chaat masala.Mix in very well till everything is coated with the tempering and the masala.

Place the well coated poha in the oven again and roast for 10 mins at the same temperature.

Cool and store in air tight container. This proves to be a good snack with tea.

Do check my fellow bloggers as well: Veena, Champa, Priya and Susan.

3 thoughts on “Oven Roasted Chivda

Leave a Reply

