Homemade Ma’amouls


Before I type about any baking recipe check out my craft. I made a Father Christmas puppet with my students today!! Just loved making them and made one for myself:)

Bakethon’s day 8 and I am frantically bookmarking recipes from my Facebook friends, favourite books and T.V. shows. No matter how organised regarding the bake for the evening, when I come back from work, I end up baking a totally different recipe!! I thought of pinwheel date cookies this morning when I left for work.When I was back, I decided stuffing dates in the pastry..and had a totally different creation!  I worked my dates with mixed spices and decided it needs another accompaniment. Hence I google searched the accompaniments for dates in baking. Majority suggested walnuts. Hence a handful of walnuts went toasting in the oven:)) This cookie is not too overboard with sugar…the dates give the natural sweetness to the cookies. These turned out to be similar to Ma’amouls’, which are small shortbread pastries filled with dates, pistachios and walnuts.   These are very popular in the Gulf countries. They are of various shapes…. of balls or of domed or flattened cookies. They can either be decorated by hand or be made in special wooden moulds.

For this you will need:

Outer dough:

1 cup of semolina

1 cup of plain flour

1/2 cup of butter

1/2 tsp Baking powder

1 tsp of cinnamon powder

water to knead.

Rub the butter into the dry ingredients till crumbly. Add in water only to bring the dough together. Cling film and refrigerate for minimum for 30 minutes.

Filling:

Pitted dates 300g

toasted walnuts 150g

mixed spices as per your need. I added about 2 tsp

Blend these together in a blender to bring the dates-walnuts together into a kind of a dough.

Method:

After the dough has been in the fridge. Break it into smaller pieces and roll it flat and thin. Place a small ball of dates-walnut mix. Cover the ball with the dough from all sides and roll in your palms to make a smooth ball. If you have any cookie cutter, use it to mark the ball. I used star cutter.

Bake on a parchment lined baking sheet at 180 degrees preheated oven till lightly brown. It took about 25 mins to bake it completely. Bring it out on a cooling rack. Dust it with icing sugar and ginger powder while still warm.

So did you enjoy those scrumptious delights? Check out the other delight from

Susan

Champa

Veena

Priya

7 thoughts on “Homemade Ma’amouls

Leave a Reply

