Christmas Jewels


This evening I wanted to paint red..well, I do have such sudden wishes and crazes many a times. I take special care to satisfy them on any sort of media I come across. This way, I am able to calm my emotions and it works as a therapy for me. CHeck what Red colour means..I google searched on the net:

The Effects of the Color Red

How the color red affects us mentally and physically
  • Increases enthusiasm
  • Stimulates energy
  • Encourages action and confidence
  • A sense of protection from fears and anxiety
Red is the color fo the base or root chakra. This chakra is located at the base of the spine and allows us to be grounded and connect to the universal energies.

I decided to bake simple cookies this evening. All I wanted was something red on it.  I saw a box of royal icing perched in my fridge. I checked for the Christmas red gel in my baking box…found it!! I was absolutely thrilled to find my RED I wished to paint. Coloured my royal icing with red and check out how my fancy worked out:)

For the cookies you will need:

240g of plain flour

175g butter plus some for greasing

75g castor sugar

Pinch of salt

1 tsp vanilla essence

1 tbsp of milk or you may use 1 egg white beaten lightly to glaze.

Preheat the oven to 160 degrees C and grease couple of baking sheets.

Method:

In a mixing bowl, cream the butter with the sugar, salt and vanilla essence. Sift in the flour and mix well. Bring the dough together and refrigerate in the fridge for 30 mins.

Roll out the dough on a floured surface and cut using round cutters. Brush lightly with milk or egg white and prick lightly with fork. I used milk to glaze.

Bake in the oven for 15 mins.

For the Royal icing please refer Wilton’s Royal Icing recipe. I used Christmas red gel to colour my royal icing to the colour I liked. I had saved some white for piping. Make the red icing slightly thin to cover the cookies. Let it dry for an hour ideally you should give it half a day at least. Since I had to post it this evening for Bakethon, it did not dry completely. Using piping technique you may decorate your Christmas jewel as you wish. Tonight was the urge to paint red on my side rather than baking something different.  “You know that feeling you get, sometimes, in a cold wintry evening with the sudden urge for colours and warmth?…I have it.”  Do you sometimes have such urges??

Check what other Bakethon members have baked today for day 7:

Veena

Champa

Priya

Susan

2 thoughts on “Christmas Jewels

Leave a Reply

