Hazelnut and white chocolate biscotti


I just cannot believe that it is day 6 of Bakethon. With the freezing temperature, I do not mind baking as it keeps my kitchen warm when my oven is on. I am trying to post some things which I have not tried before. My bread-knot turned out fantastic to my surprise and now I am playing with a biscotti recipe which I picked up from Tesco’s (super market) real treat booklet which is available this Christmas. I swapped the orange flavoured dark chocolate which the recipe demands with white chocolate…well that is what I had in my pantry. 

These biscottis’ turned out to be really delicious. I liked the hazelnuts in combination with the chewy chocolate inside and the crunch on the outside. A kind of a real treat from Tesco’s real treat:) Guess what, I am sitting with a hot water bag in my duvet as I type this post out just with my right hand(left one is in the duvet) which is freezing because of the cold…..it is F..R..E..E..Z..I..N..G!!! Hence I am jumping straight to the recipe…

You will need:

125 g whole hazelnuts toasted and cooled

225 g plain flour

1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1 tsp cream of tartar

225g of demerara sugar

75g dried raisins,sultana, berry mix

50 g white chocolate chopped

2 eggs beaten

1/2 orange grated zest( I used it anyways to give it a hint of orange)

Icing sugarfor dusting(optional)

Notice the hazelnut missing in the top bisc..I munched as I clicked this:))

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees C. Mix all the ingredients( apart from icing sugar) with a pinch of salt. Knead on a floured surface to bring together. Divide into 3 and roll each into sausages. Place on a baking sheet with a parchment lined. Place them really apart as they spread a lot. Bake for 25-30 mins. Bring them out and cool slightly. Cut them into long biscuits and put back onto lined sheets.Turn down the oven to 140 degrees C and bake for another 15 mins. Cool and dust with icing sugar.

Check out my fellow blogger in Bakethon:

Veena

Priya

Susan

Champa

5 thoughts on “Hazelnut and white chocolate biscotti

Leave a Reply

