Anniversary fresh fruit cake-Bake-A-thon day 4


My baby's creation

Hello friends…Weekends are a bit like rainbows; they look good from a distance but disappear when you get up close to them. I thought I could bake loads during the weekend in comparison to the week days, you know what, I was incorrect!! Where in the world did the time fly away….I had in plans to soak fruits and bake some cookies and biscottis. But no, I could not.  So I am posting my two week old cake which I had baked for a friend on the 20112011(which happened to be our anniversary as well). I baked a tiny one for us but for this couple..it was this colourful and quite adventurous for me. Check out mu anniversary cake which my son(13 yrs) helped cover and decorate..yes he did everything under my instructions..with a little assistance!!

For this you will need:

Cake:

225g butter softened at room temperature

225g castor sugar

4 medium eggs

2 tsp vanilla extract

225g self raising flour

milk to help it loosen

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees C and grease an 8″ round cake tin.  Cream the butter and the sugar together in a bowl. Beat in the eggs, a little at a time, and stir in the vanilla extract. Fold in the flour and add milk if the batter has not come to soft, dropping consistency. Pour in the cake mix into the cake tin and spread with a spatula. Bake for 25-30 mins or until done.  Cool on a cooling rack. Once cool, cut the cake into two using a sharp knife to sandwich the cream fillings.

Cream and Icing:

2 tubs of whipping cream

2 tbsp of icing sugar

Whip the cream with icing sugar until they form stiff peaks.

Fresh fruits:

You may use as many or as little fruits of your choice.

Kiwis 2-3

Grapes as many you love

Strawberries a box

Raspberries a box

Peel and slice kiwis into thin slices. Cut them into flowers and butterfly shapes using cookie/fondant cutters. Use a cocktail stick to hold these shapes and keep then ready.Do not bin the left overs fruits from the shapes you cut. Chop the left overs and keep aside.You may do the same to the strawberries. Pierce couple of grapes in a cocktail sticks. This way keep all the fruits ready apart from raspberries.

Chop the left of fruits. Use 1/2 cup of whipped cream and fold in the chopped fruits.

Arranging and Icing:

Place the cake on a cake board. Hold the cake by adding a little cream at the bottom(this acts like a glue). Use the chopped fruit and whipped cream mix to spreadon one part of the sponge. Spread evenly and place the other sponge on top. Use a part of the whipped cream thinly to crumb coat(this is a coat to hold the crumbs of the cake). Refridgerate for 15 mins. I used the rest of the cream to give this cake the look of a basket.Using a piping bag and the nozzle for the basket weave, I piped the basket weave around the cake. You may cover the cake with the rest of the whipping cream. Arrange the fruits on cocktail sticks on the top of the cake. Use the raspberries to cover the top of the cake or any gaps in the fruit shapes.

I had specially made a heart shaped fondant handle and butterfly to give an extra touch to this cake. Tadaa….

Love it? Some of my facebook friends might have seen the photos uploaded. But here is the detailed way to this master piece 🙂

Check what my fellow bloggers have been upto today:

Champa

Susan

Veena

Priya

10 thoughts on “Anniversary fresh fruit cake-Bake-A-thon day 4

  1. Look beautiful and very festive. I wish I had a cake in reserve from weeks ago to pull from my hat. I don’t even have a white rabbit right now. Happy Belated Anni, Preeti.

Leave a Reply

