Bread-knots from a bread-not (Bake-A-thon day 3)


Day 3 in this Bake-A-thon month and all my fellow bloggers have come up with such amazing bakes so far. I am awe struck when I see their breads and how delicious they look. I am not sure why, but I have always been apprehensive about bread baking. Somehow the involvement of yeast makes me feel..it must be a daunting task. I do not think I would ever attempt making bread..but I have made an attempt today!! So here is a Bread knot from a Bread not person.  A good bread is always satisfying and more satisfying it is when everyone appreciates the results .

I chanced upon a blog….Chef in Disguise  this morning and am a great fan of Sawson already. She absolutely like me. Work by day, baking by night apart from being tied with other commitments. I have been working in a special needs school for the last 3.5 yrs and am either a painter or a baker in the evenings. My husband and my son are totally supportive of my crazes. I know they have to deal with all kinds of emotional upsurges I go through when any inspiration strikes me:))  They make my world so much beautiful. I totally love my family. Right, here’s my new project…

Well Sawson suggests some amazing herbs and black olives. However, when I checked my pantry, I had a jar of green olives and some rosemary which I had picked up at work while gardening. I added some carom seeds as well. Apologies Sawson, I tweaked the recipe as per the my available resources and needs.

  • 1 1/2 cups of flour (keep extra flour on the side for kneading)
  • 3/4 cup of warm water
  • 100g chopped olives cut into small pieces
  • 4 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons chopped rosemary
  • 1 tablespoons of carom seeds
  • 1/2 tablespoon of dry yeast
  • 1/2 teaspoon of sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt

Activate the yeast with warm water and sugar. Leave aside for some time(5-10 mins) Add in the olive oil, rosemary, carom seeds, salt and stir. Add in the flour, little at a time and bring together by kneading. Fold in the chopped olives. This dough will be sticky. Cling film the bowl and keep in a warm place till it rises double in size.

Add some more flour to knead the dough again till it is nice and together. It should not stick to the palms. Cling film again and keep aside in a warm place till it rises again doubly.

Preheat oven to 420 degrees C. Knead the dough softly again. Roll out long sausages and tie a simple knot by tucking in. Brush with milk on top.

Bake for 15 mins or till done.

I hope you all like my first attempt with the breads.

Oh, yes and check what the other bloggers have been upto:

Champa

Priya

Veena

Susan

10 thoughts on “Bread-knots from a bread-not (Bake-A-thon day 3)

  1. A lot of bakers are (or were) afraid of yeast. I think it’s to do with the funky little fungi organisms that spring to action when watered and fed, and like to do their own thing when not carefully watched and controlled. IMO, it’s the most challenging baking there is, but there is nothing like homemade yeast bread, as much as I like unleavened flatbreads, too. These look great, Preeti. Olives and carom sound especially wonderful in the mix.

  2. This is your first attempt with yeast. Hats off Gal. This looks good. I felt very scared in the beginning too of all the scaredy stories I heard but my first attempt turned out to be good and has continued so far. Thank God.

  3. Great job on your first attempt..you should see my first attempts with yeast! some didn’t rise, others were too soft to hold shape and some plain went to the trash..
    You on the other hand did a wonderful job
    Thank you so much for trying one of my recipes..I really appreciate it and I hope it was to your liking 🙂

Leave a Reply

