Spicy almond cookies for Bake-A-thon


I came across Champa’s post about her Bake-A-thon in the month of December. Without any second thought, I opted for it. My husband just checked my face..well I could clearly read his mind from his looks. It  asked” are you alright?” Well, I am never alright anyways 🙂 I go crazy with any little thing. New ideas, concepts, flavours, designs, seasons, festivals, friends. dresses, bags …and loads inspire me a lot. So when Bake-A-thon was announced, little did I think of my full time work….and I realised it tonight cause was absolutely busy at work and rushed back for dinner and sent my son to his football and donned my baking apron quite late. ..Phew!! This I think will be the case till we break for Christmas. But never mind, at least I will have one baked recipe posted every evening. 4 other bloggers have joined in this mad and crazy act:)) I could do it and I am sure I can for the rest of the month!!!It will be absolutely amazing when at the end of the month we have 31 times 4 recipes of all types!!! Joining me in this month long ‘Bake-A-Thon’ are apart from Champa who is the mind behind this brave act:
Susan of The WellSeasoned Cook
Veena Krishna Kumar of VeenasVegnation
Priya Suresh of Priya’s Easy N Tasty Recipes

To start with, I am posting a simple spiced almond cookies…to set the Yuletide mood. I hope you all enjoy them.

240g of plain flour

175g butter plus some for greasing

100g castor sugar

40g almonds chopped

1/2tsp of mixed spices

Pinch of salt

1 tsp vanilla essence

1 tbsp of milk or you may use 1 egg white beaten lightly to glaze

Preheat the oven to 160 degrees C and grease couple of baking sheets.Mix half the sugar with chopped almonds and mixed spices and keep aside.

In a mixing bowl, cream the butter with the remaining sugar, salt and vanilla essence. Sift in the flour and mix well.  Bring the dough together and refrigerate in the fridge for 30 mins.

Roll out the dough on a floured surface and cut using cutters. Brush lightly with milk or egg white and prick lightly with fork. I used milk to glaze.

Sprinkle with the spiced sugar and almonds mix and bake in the oven for 15 mins.

Place on cooling racks and sprinkle with chopped almonds.

16 thoughts on “Spicy almond cookies for Bake-A-thon

  1. Wow, they look amazing. Hahaha, it is a crazy act. I had to rush and bake the muffins yesterday for today’s post. TUrning oven on everyday for the month will keep the house warm too.

  2. oh wow you opted for it? I so wanted to join in but end of the month would be time for Poush mela and I would be too busy with hthat. all the best dear and I know you would do this with ease. the cookies look wonderful.

  3. So much inspires you – you sound like me. : ) That’s a true joy in living. Happy to know you thorough Champa’s Bake-A-Thon. Your cookies look like they would divinely melt in your mouth.

Leave a Reply

