Light spicy fruit cake


It started with a burning feeling in the throat.. next comes sneezing, a runny nose, and the feeling of being tired and unwell….a day off…makes me all the more sad:((….a fruit cake baking in the oven..cheers me up!!:)) Yes, I had a day off work last day and spent most of my time with vicks, warm water,steam and of course my buddy…laptop!! I chanced upon a lovely kitchen, Sams Kitchen..a lovely blog and her first recipe that I came across was Spicy Fruit cake soaked in wine. I could smell the aroma immediately as I read the post. I wanted to avoid the wine(not that I wouldn’t have liked, but my son is allergic to any liquor) Sam suggested using any fruit juice, hence I tweaked it slightly and used pomegranate juice instead.   

This is what Sam suggests with the ingredients:

225g self raising flour

1 tsp cinnamon powder

1 tsp mixed spice

1 tsp baking powder

115g soft brown sugar

115g soft butter 

Any fruit juice(I used pomegranate juice)

Cinnamon stick 1 piece

Cloves 4-5 crushed cloves

225g dried fruit (I used mixed dried fruit)

2 medium eggs

2 tbsp milk

I wanted a soft crust, hence avoided the crusty topping suggested as well. But if you like, you may try that. I am sure it tastes amazing.

Method: You need to begin this cake the night before you want to bake it. But I was so desperate, I gave the fruits 6-7 hours.  Place the fruits in a large bowl. Add a piece of cinnamon and 4-5 cloves(crushed_ and mix in the juice. Cover the bowl with a clean tea cloth and leave overnight, or for 12 hours, for the fruit to plump up and absorb the juice. Disard the cinnamon and cloves after the soaking time.

Mix in the dry ingredients and sieve together. Keep aside.

Mix in butter and sugar till light. Add in the eggs one at a time and whisk.

Fold in the dry ingredients into the egg-butter and sugar mix.

Fold in the soaked fruits in this mixture next.

Grease a 8 inch pan and dust with flour. Preheat the oven to 160 degrees Celsius.

Pour in the cake mix into the greased pan and bake for 45 min-1 hour. Mine took another 10 minutes to bake completely.

 

You will start enjoying this bake in just 10 minutes time after you place it in the oven, because your kitchen starts filling in with the aroma of the spices !!  Cool for 10-15 minutes( please resist yourself..I know it is difficult, but you must). Once it cools down, cut a slice for yourself and enjoy!!

3 thoughts on “Light spicy fruit cake

  1. oh hope you are feeling better now. take good care…
    I make fruit cake every year. this year am yet to soak the dry fruits. the red wine’s been bought for a long time but dont know why am feeling very lazy these days.
    this cake looks gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

