Vangi masala(Aubergine/brinjal in masala)


Village food in Maharashtra will include bhakri, pithla,thecha,kharda, bhaat, vegetable made of batata(potatoes) or vangi(aubergine) or any leafy vegatable. Vangi masala is a simple vegetable that they prepare. This of course requires very less time and preparations. The only enrichment I can predict is the use of danyache kut(crushed peanuts) and khobra(dried coconut). This is my contribution for Village Special event on my blog. I had been to the Asian stores last day and picked up a few of veggies missed at our regular superstores. Aubergines(baby) were the first I grabbed!!

Here is a simple post for the simplest Vangi masala:

Aubergines 500g

Onions 2 medium chopped

Grated dry coconut 2 tablespoons

crushed peanuts 2 tablespoons

Goda masala(if you haven’t got this use garam masala) 1-2 tablespoons(depends on your taste and masala used)

Turmeric 1 teaspoon

Chilli powder 1 teaspoon(you may add more if you like)

mustard seed 1 teaspoon

Oil 3 tablespoons

Asoefoetida a pinch

Salt to taste

Coriander to garnish

Wash the aubergines. Slit open with a cross into them to separate four portions which are intact at the base. In a pan, prepare the tempering using oil, mustard seeds and asofoetida. When the mustard seeds splutter, add in the turmeric. Saute the onions. Add the slit aubergines and saute for a couple of minutes. Cover and steam. After the first steaming, add the chilli powder, goda masala, crushed peanuts, coconut and stir. Add salt to taste and 1 cup of warm water. Cover and cook. The aubergines should soften and coat with the masala. Garnish with chopped coriander and serve with bhakri/chapati. I served this with hot chapati and my husband said, khedegavat hya bhajila lal tavang asto…..(the village preparation has red  curry with loads of oil floating on top!!!)..now if I had to prepare vangyacha masala with tavang…there would have been haaaas and huuus around in the house:)) I am not a tickha eater..are you?

I can imagine that this vegetable is prepared for a lavish meal in the villages,possibly when visitors are welcomed with warmth and love in their humble accomodations.

I haven’t received any contributions from my dear readers. I thought I should just extend the deadline by another week(last date 4th June 2011)and remind them gently about his event. So my dear friends if you haven’t decided or thought of this event,please do so. I am waiting eagerly to receive your posts.

2 thoughts on “Vangi masala(Aubergine/brinjal in masala)

Leave a Reply

