Walk..


We went for a walk last Friday….

I knew it was a lovely day and we were all looking forward to this short day out. One said, are we going to play on slides!! Some wanted to run around and few others wanted to play football!! I personally wanted to go for a long walk. And so we did!! If you are seeking creative ideas, go out walking.  Angels whisper to a man when he goes for a walk.  ~Raymond Inmon


We walked and chatted as we reached the fields. A small wooden bridge led us across …a small stream flowing down glistened in the sunshine. We all stomped on the bridge. This time my mind went back to the story Three Billy Goats….

“Stomp, Stomp, Stomp, Stomp!” went the bridge, for the Billy-goat was so heavy that the bridge creaked and groaned under him.

“WHO’S THAT STOMPING OVER MY BRIDGE?” roared the troll.

It has been ages that I have set my mind so free. Long back had I shouted and listen to the birds. Don’t remember when I stomped on the bridges last 🙂

To reach this park, we had to walk through the fields. So much to explore around. We stopped to listen to the chirping birds. Tried guessing what they meant to say!! Some said, “It’s calling me” 🙂 Other’s said”It says go away,leave me alone” oh, oh mixed reactions!!

We checked on the Lavenders growing, looked at the yellow Buttercups! I even discovered a shrub which sticks to our fabrics like velcro!!There was a stable with ponies and horses grazing. How much have I been missing these days. I could recall my English teacher explaining R. L. Stevenson’s Vagabond. I remember learning the poem by heart and reciting in the lessons and how much I regretted when I had to think and explain about the work.

Give to me the life I love,
Let the lave go by me,
Give the jolly heaven above
And the byway nigh me.
Bed in the bush with stars to see,
Bread I dip in the river –
There’s the life for a man like me,
There’s the life for ever.

So much it meant now.  We carried on until we reached the park. Happiness on everyone’s face showed that they deserved this break.

We played, ran around, chased around and chatted. I specially loved hanging on a rope . There were two hanging by the side of a pole.This had a small seat just enough to sit. One had to sit cross-legged and hold the ropes with both the hands. Two people had to move the rope round the pole in the same direction and leave. As soon as they were left, the people sitting would round spinning in the opposite direction!!! It was FUN:)  Why didn’t I do this with my own son!!! Reminds me of  Poet W. H. Davies’s work:

Leisure

What  is this life if, full of care,We have no time to stand and stare.

No time to stand beneath the boughs And stare as long as sheep or cows. 

No time to see, when woods we pass,Where squirrels hide their nuts in grass. 

No time to see, in broad daylight,Streams full of stars, like skies at night.

No time to turn at Beauty’s glance,And watch her feet, how they can dance. 

No time to wait till her mouth canEnrich that smile her eyes began. 

A poor life this if, full of care,We have no time to stand and stare.

After a day’s walk everything has twice its usual value. There was so much to take back. The moments, the experiance, the memories, the bondings and some realisation. There was a sudden realisation that I have missed out so much. Nowadays,I spend more time chatting with my son than I did before:) Walks yes…more walks with my hubby:)

It has been a week since this experiance and am missing my work as I had been at home because of neck ailment. I look forward to Monday when I will visit my world again..very special!!

Leave a Reply

