Rasmalai


As a child I used to love eating Mouchak’s(Sweet joint in Kolkata) and Ganguram’s sandesh and roshogullas. I remember, I used to ask for a rupee from Baba(dad) for jhalmudi wala(bhelwala) outside my school. All the girls bought jhalmudi after school. MBGHS girls if you are reading my post, you might recall how we forced our darwanji and driver to slow down the bus by the jhalmudi wala:) The jhalmudi walas kept the thongas ready to quickly handover through the windows…!! I always wanted to buy, but never had enough money. No, not because Baba never gave me. He said you will get Re 1 everyday if you wish, you decide how you would like to spend it. Every morning, I had to wait by Golpark’s Mouchak for my school bus. The bus never arrived on time. It was so difficult for a little girl to turn her back towards the sweet shop right on that footpath!!! 🙂 I always ended up buying sandesh every morning before actually going to the school. It was only after I finished sandesh everyday that I used to be poor girl again till the next morning! I had a trick though, jhalmudi cost Re1 as well, so I used to share it with a friend with the balance I had after my sweet treat in the mornings!! Quite a planning I did with my little brain then eh!

Being a sweet tooth makes me look for recipes which need sugar, fruits, syrups and mithais!! During the easter weekend I spent working on Bengali sweets. Bengali sweets have a special place in my choice list!!Rasmalai is a North Indian sweet/Bengali dessert. It is rich,creamy sweet milk with paneer balls garnished with nuts.  I prepared paneer in the same way as I did for rasgulla. But this time the balls were smaller in size. Keep them aside once ready.


For the creamy milk, I used the rabdi masala pack I had. It has mix of milk powder, chopped nuts, cardamom, saffron strands etc. If you do not have one, you may use milk masala available in India for masala doodh.

In a thick bottom pan place a saucer(this avoids the milk from sticking and burning at the bottom). Add 3 cups of milk and 3 tablespoons of milk.

Stir in the rabdi mix. Keep stirring the milk reduces to almost 2 cups and gains a creamy texture. Squeeze the rasgullas from the syrup and add them to the prepared milk mix.

When this cools a little, add in cardamom powder and garnish with chopped pistachio . Serve chilled.

2 thoughts on “Rasmalai

Leave a Reply

