Masoor biryani


I have so many recipes in my draft. Now that I am able to use my both hands properly(my left arm needs rest after sometime though) I decided to start posting them. So you will will have a new post almost every alternate day possibly:)

My son’s Romanian friend just loves all our rice preparations especially the Biryanis’. His mum is  a fantastic person, bakes the best cakes I have ever had. She had sent one as well and I made sure  to prepare her son’s favourite Biryani with mild spices.

It is Masoor biryani that I prepared. He always loves it in different layers. This time I sent him in a bowl shape and he was absolutely delighted.

Recipe:

It is my so called made to fit my liking recipe.

Basmati soaked and drained 2 cups

Vegetable oil 3-4 tablespoons

Ghee 2 tablespoons

Onions 2 medium thinly chopped in half moon shape

Tomatoes 5-6 chopped

Ginger-garlic paste 1 tablespoon

Green chillies paste 1 teaspoon if you like(I did not use)

Masoor dal 1 cup soaked for couple of hours.

Garam masala powder/tanduri masala works very well

Black pepper powder 1 tsp

Salt to taste

Sugar 1 tsp

Cumin seed 1 tsp

Khada garam masala(mix of   3 cloves, couple of badi elaichi, 2 small sticks of dalchini, couple of bay leaves

Onion 1 thinly chopped, fried till caramelised(try using brown sugar to help caramelise well)Keep aside.

Coriander chopped for garnishing

In a pan, heat the oil. Add the cumin seeds,wait till they splutter. Add in the khada garam masala,stir. Add in the chopped onions and fry them for a couple of minutes. Add in the tomatoes and cook. Add in the ginger-garlic paste and green chillies paste and stir. Add the garam masala powder or tanduri masala which is even better(I love the colour rendered by this masala..nice and red!!) Drain the dal and mix in with the prepared masala. Add salt and sugar.

In a separate pan, add a tsp on oil and the ghee. Add the soaked and drained basmati rice. Fry the rice very well till coated with ghee. Do not over mix as the rice grains break. Add pepper powder and  salt(just a pinch).Bring the rice together to the centre of the pan(like a mountain). Add in lukewarm water. Make sure the tip of the rice mountain is not dipped in the water though. This trick makes the rice khulla khulla!! Cover and cook. It hardly take time, may be 10 minutes. Switch off the heat and set aside.


Mix in half of the rice in the masoor dal preparation. Do not mix it vigorously lest the rice grains break.  Now to serve in a bowl place a layer of white rice. Top this with a layer of masoor preparation, followed by white rice layer. Finally top it with the masoor dal masala. Garnish with caramelised onions and chopped coriander.

You may use a slightly greased bowl and arrange the rice in layers and turn it over a plate to present it in a different way as I have 🙂

Serve with yoghurt or raita.

5 thoughts on “Masoor biryani

  1. Dear Preeti, by viewing the mouthwatering photo & reading the simple recipe today I m definitely going to prepare it for my kids.

    I always like your potos of different recipes.One more thing, take care of your hands & when u visit India please come to my home for delicious bhakari & thecha.Im preparing it for last so many years.

Leave a Reply

