With Silk lines(reshamachya reghani…) for Colours Dekor


Patricia’s new series this month is  ‘A Thousand Words’ and has asked us to post whatever the titles means to us… It is so much brighter and warm with the Sun shining almost everyday. I am keeping a close watch on the apple tree in our garden. It was adorned with white flowers last month and very soon we will have the tree laden with huge number of apples. Every morning when I draw the curtains to the sides, I make sure I look at this tree and I do the same when I come back from work in the evening. There is something about this tree, not sure what,but it inspires me…I draw a lot of energy from it. It is a respite for me after a long day at work.

During the Easter holidays, I opened all my cartons full of sarees and loads of other stuff which I love. Some sarees are new and others are amongst my first set of sarees. Amongst the things which speak huge words  it is this newly prepared wall piece using my saree. It is my saree…one of my wedding sarees. I remember going out for wedding shopping with my relatives.  I draped this beautiful piece for almost all the important occasions in  my life. My wedding, my sister’s Seemant Pujan, many parties, naming ceremonies ..the list is endless. I treasured this beautiful saree because it is part of my wedding trousseau  brought it all the way to UK.  I love the intricate design on the border and the pallu. Mine has a peacocks on the border. A part of the border looked a bit tired though. I was sad but did not wish to discard it at any cost.  At the same time, my house needed a splash of colour around. It looked like an old diary….a little thinking and a quick trip to the pound shop and hey presto I waved a magic wand in my living room!!! Believe me this saree did make me happy when I draped it but it speaks more than thousand words, now that it is on the wall!!

Here is a peep into the DIY decor I did …..The pallu has dorned my walls now. Rest of the saree, I use to bind the long cream curtains on the side. It has created a different look altogether. At least I am loving the new look of my living room:) The kalighat painting in water colours is just by the door, with the clay bell on it’s side. I sprayed it gold and it gives the corner a serene touch.
Patricia, there are a few more things which speak huge number of words…I will try and post them in another contribution to you 🙂


5 thoughts on “With Silk lines(reshamachya reghani…) for Colours Dekor

  1. Oh lovely… lovely!! I love the title of your post… ‘reshmacha reghani’… who would think of that one?? I also love love the DIYs you are showing here… Now how about a home tour… for Colours Dekor?? That would be precious!! Do email me.. *smiles*

Leave a Reply

