Tilache ladu..awaiting being posted…


Sankranti is long gone….and the spring is set in. However, my Sesame Ladus stil fresh in my mind are coaxing me to post the photograph and the recipe I used this Sankranti.

It was a happy occassion for many reasons:

One, my brother and his wife were coming for their first Sankranti!

Two, my hubby was travelling to India, which meant, I could send my  homemade ladus to my near and dear ones!!!

Three, my mother-in-law celebrates her birthday a day before Sankranti…so it was a good occassion for me to send these to them.

Four, I did not use the traditional roasted,crushed peanuts, instead used roasted,ground almonds….just to make them richer 🙂

White Sesame seeds 1 cup
Jaggery/Gud 1 cup
Ground almonds 1/2 cup
Ghee/Clarified butter 1/4 th cup
Cardamom powder 1/2 teaspoon

Roast the sesame seeds. Dry grind once to get crushed sesame seeds.Heat the ghee in a vessel, when hot add the jaggery. The jaggery will liquefy and start to foam and froth. Remove the vessel from heat source and add the sesame seeds, ground almonds, cardamom powder. Mix well and keep stirring. When mixed well, roll the mixture into small ladus or this mixture can be put flat in a greased tray and cut into squares. If you plan to make the squares, make sure you cut them when the mixture is still warm. Wet the blade of the knife you use to cut the squares.

2 thoughts on “Tilache ladu..awaiting being posted…

  1. was away for a long time and now we are relocating to Kolkata. things are maddening here and i crave to enter my kitchen and whip up something good. these laddus look awesome and very beautiful click. that piece of swan shaped platter looks amazing.

Leave a Reply

