Pineapple raita


Pineapple raita, is my all time favourite with any Punjabi meal or any kind of spicy rice preparation, especially Biryanis’.  I first had this in Pune. There was this restaurant called Saisagar near my residence and we used to visit it when we wished a change in our dinners. Ruchira suggests Koshimbir with bananas, guavas..I had a tin of pineapples. I thought I will try it out myself to see how the fruit goes with yoghurt. 

I tried making it once and it has been a hit in the family and friends too. Now I make it quiet quickly with a coriander-mint chutney powder that I picked up from a local Asian store. If you haven’t got one, try replacing it with fresh coriander-mint paste.

To make Pineapple raita you will need:

1 can of pineapple chunks

2 cups of set yoghurt

1 tablespoon of sugar(I like my yoghurt sweetened)

1 tablespoon Coriander-mint powder or fresh paste

1 teaspoon  cumin powder

1/4 teaspoon mustard paste(Ruchira suggests soaking mustard in water and grinding it..I had a ready English paste)

Salt to taste

Fresh coriander chopped for garnishing.

In a bowl, beat the yoghurt till smooth and soft. Add in the sugar, salt, coriander-mint powder, mix well. If you are using coriander-mint paste, stir it in till encorporated. Add the pineapple chunks. Mix so that the pineapple pieces are well soaked in the yoghurt. Sprinkle cumin powder on top. Garnish with chopped coriander.  Serve with any spicy curry or rice preparation.

Leave a Reply

