Cranberries-raisins chutney.


Fresh cranberries were waiting in my fridge to be used since last week. But an untimely cold refrained me from making use of them. I even missed the Boxing Day shopping this year!!I had plans of homemade mincemeat and the mince pies but all in vain. Cups of tea, steams with Vicks and lots of fluids and a little rest has made me better today.

Two whole days are wasted from my break!! This is the only time when I get time to try out different things I have in mind. I even had a box of fresh cherries for some purpose, but half of it is already gone(it can hardly wait when you have two cherry eating monkeys at home). While R and P decided to do some reading….Paulo Ceolho and Horrid Henry respectively, I decided to try out something to save my cranberries. This horrid cold has however made me feel weak, so had no stamina to bake anything this afternoon. Instead I decided to make a chutney.

So here is to my quick and simple Cranberries-raisins chutney:

2 cups raw cranberries, washed and dried

1 cup soaked raisins(soaked in orange juice for 1/2 hour)

1 cup soft brown sugar

1/2 cup golden syrup

1/4 cup white vinegar

1 tsp clove powder

1 tsp cinnamon powder

1 tsp ginger powder

Put all the ingredients in a pan and start cooking on a medium heat. The sugar will start melting. Keep stirring. Once the cranberries are softened, let the mixture simmer for about 20 minutes. The cranberries-raisins chutney is done. Let it cool and fill in a warm sterilised jar. Store in a cool and dry place. Once opened, it should be refridgerated.

Tip: In order to sterilise the jar, wash it in a dish washer/hot soapy water. Dry in the oven. Pour in the chutney when the jar is still warm.

2 thoughts on “Cranberries-raisins chutney.

Leave a Reply

