Gingerbread House


Gingerbread houses  fascinate both young and old alike.I remember learning marathi balgeet at Maharashtra Niwas, Kolkata as a kid..”asava sundar chocolatecha bangla” both I and my sister were active participants in the programmes. We would fancy the chocolate house in the song. Gingerbread houses are quite similar I believe. I wished to bake one for along time but had no perfect guts and recipe to begin with. Rachel Allen’s Christmas Bake fulfilled my wishes and here is my gift to my sister for her birthday(who is in Mumbai)….chocolatecha bangla, though we took it our Romanian friend’s party last evening. It was a nice break from sitting b y the fireplace..been stuck indoors for 3 days now…can you believe the temperature was -8 today and it has snowed down horribly in UK!!!

It was a great way to put together the frames and then decorating with the candies and sweets!!! I wish I had a pack of hundreds and thousands to cover the icing. Next time I make it, I am surely doing it with plan..hopefully it stops snowing!!

Here’s to gingerbread recipe:

725g flour

2 tsp of soda bicarbonate

3 tsp ground ginger

If you like you may add 1 tsp of ground cinnamon.

Seive these and keep aside.

In a saucepan, melt and mix the following:

300g butter

125 g both castor and dark brown sugar

5-6 tablespoons of golden syrup

Cut out templates of a house and keep ready. Mix the melted butter mixture into the dry ingredients and knead it into a soft dough. Put this dough in a cling film and refridgerate fr 30-45 mins.

When refridgerated, bring it out and roll it into flat quarter inch thickness. Using the templates, cut the dough into frames needed for the house. Transfer into baking trays and bake at 180 degrees for 10-15 mins. When done, cool on cooling racks. I used royal icing as glue to put together the frames. I am sorry I did not have enough candies to decorate my gingerbread house. A few jelly candies and smarties helped me decorate this house.

Check out my tree decorations I made from the rest of the dough…..

Happy birthday S!!!!

I am also sending this to Suma cause she is celebrating her blog’s first birthday!!! Congrats Suma and here is a present for you. I could relate to Suma’s feelings cause I had never dreamt about baking let alone blogging!! But thanks to R(my husband) and little friend P(my son) and a set of good friends in my town!!! Well done Suma….I shall try and send in a few more presents to you!!

Champa’s Bake off.
And to  Sameena’s My Culinary Creations
6 thoughts on “Gingerbread House

  1. Cute Gingerbread house here Preeti! Am sure this was fun to make! Thanks for visiting my blog and also sending this yummy house for my blog birthday celebrations!

Leave a Reply

