Sticky Toffee Pudding.


I had my mouth filled with this dessert for the first time in Devon last year. This was when we went to celebrate the new year with our relatives. We stayed at one of the cottages and enjoyed the evenings by the fire place..quite a lovely experience it was! Especially the kids enjoyed it as they kept visiting the barn to get hold of the wood logs to burn in the fire. The temperature outside was plummeting and we decided to dine in one of the local pubs. It was very relishing and I can never, ever forget the taste of the warm, steamed sticky toffee pudding served with Vanilla ice-cream.

Baking was not my forte then…I had never dreamt then that I would start baking in just 4 months time in the new year! Nearly a year now since I experianced the English classic for the first time and I made my first attempt last weekend. I tried it with a store bought Toffee Sauce though. We are in the midst of a bitter cold wave at the moment. So ice cream was a strict no-no to avoid any colds and coughs!! Soft, sweet, whipped cream seemed to be the best option.

I had baked the cake for the pudding rather than steaming it. However, I will surely steam in my next attempt. I need to try the Toffee Sauce as well next time.  Here’s the path to sweet indulgence……

250g pitted dates(chopped)

250 ml black tea made up.

220g self-raising flour

100g butter

3 eggs

3/4 tsp soda bicarbonate

175g castor sugar

1 tsp clove-cinnamon powder

1 tsp vanilla extract

Cook the chopped dates in the prepared black tea in a saucepan. The dates will soften and then you may keep them aside.Beat the butter and sugar in a bowl till soft and fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time. Sift in the flour and the bicarbonate of soda. Add the vanilla extract and the spice mix. Fold in the cooked dates mix.

Bake the cake in a pre-greased and lined tin, in an oven preheated at 180 degrees. It should take about 45-50 minutes till done. Check with a skewer whether the cake is baked. It should come out clean. Cool and take the cake out of the tin.

Cut the cake into nice, big pieces and top it up with the Toffee sauce. Place the individual pieces with the sauce in the microwave for about 15 seconds in the microwave.  Serve with a whopping dollop of whipped cream….guys till the time you read this, I might have finished another serving of this sweet, warm, spicy, soft, heavenly treat with the whipped cream. Try it, it’s worth.

I am sending this as an entry to Versatile Vegetarian Kitchen for her next Bake-off round-up.

5 thoughts on “Sticky Toffee Pudding.

    1. yes, Sayantani…it’s absolute divine….especially the warm cake soaked in the sauce melts in your mouth along with the cold whipped cream..Thanks for your comments!!

Leave a Reply

