Manchow soup and another award!!



As the winter is setting in, I find it difficult to pull myself out of the warm duvet each morning….it is so easy to put the alarm off and go back to sleep.With the temperature’s dipping and South-East of England being washed by the showers…cups of teas,coffees and hot chocolates are flooding in the sinks both at home and at work! Dinner time, a piping hot soup by the fireplace is just what one would yearn for. Chaitrali from I-am-not-a-chef has shared a second award with me!! Gosh am I happy! 🙂 I am absolutely delighted and am celebrating my successful moving to a new place, new net connection and this award.

I shall soon be sharing this with a dozen of other bloggers who inspire me. 

Chaitrali from I-am-not-a-chef is hosting a soup event. Hence my Manchow soup.  It is a nice blend of ginger-garlic and chopped vegetables. I have added fried noodles which makes this soup quite wholesome and filling as well.

Recipe:

Carrot, capsicum, cabbage, spring onions and mushrooms chopped. The quantity may vary as per ones choice. I chose 1 carrot, half a capsicum, quarter of cabbage, 4 mushrooms and 3 sprigs of spring onions.

Ginger-garlic paste 2 tablespoon

Green chillies(as per your likings….I used just a couple)

Cornflour 1 tablespoon

Water/ vegetable stock. I used 5 cups.

Soya sauce 1.5 teaspoons

Vinegar 2 teaspoons

Noodles boiled and fried crisp in oil.

In a pan, heat a tablespoon of oil. Add ginger-garlic paste, chopped green chillies, spring onions(non-green part) and saute. Add the vegetables and cook. Add salt to taste and white pepper. Add the water/ vegetable stock. Bring to boil. Add soya sauce and stir. Blend the cornflour in cold water and add to the soup. Cook for a while. Finally add vinegar.

Serve in a soup bowl with crushed fried noodles and garnish with green spring onion bits.

5 thoughts on “Manchow soup and another award!!

  1. the soup looks absolutely delicious…….and thanks for sending it for my event….expecting many more from u…but its a last day today.
    and congratulations on winning….

    1. Thanks Chaitrali. I could ave sent in more participating posts but was busy packing and moving before Diwali. Partly finished unpacking, at least the walls are visible at home now..:) I had this soup in mind and your event as well….and the weather permitted me to get going with it!! I am sure your event will be a grand one. Waiting for its round up….

Leave a Reply

