Nankhatai and an award.


Nankhatai is an Indian cookie perfect for any occasion and makes a lovely homemade gift too.  Last evening, I received a lovely surprise.  Chaitrali from I-am-not-a-chef sent me this award. She’s a lovely cook and has a huge collection of recipes. She has given me this award…my very first award!

This morning I woke up to pack atleast my living room and a part of my kitchen pantry(well, I am moving on the 1st Nov….so loads to pack). Gosh, packing is so boring ! As I packed each box, I kept thinking about the time I will have to put in to unpack them at the new place 😦  That didn’t help….I slowed down, thought about the festivals approaching and all the aroma of goodies cooking in my kitchen and the gifts would I pack for my near and dear ones! That motivated me.  Giving packing a subtle break, I started thinking about things I like…

It is that time of year when I am thinking about Diwali and Christmas approaching. I like festivals, more because I like the colours and all the goodies. I have a special time alloted to think about gifts for my friends and colleagues. Making the occasion special is always the aim, hence a special gift. This year I plan to make homemade nankhatai batch for my friends and my son’s teachers(I am tired of checking the aisles in th supermarket getting something special for his teachers….never find something which he likes giving)

I thought of quite a lot of yummy sweets and savoury …but stuck to Nankhatai….these I made using semolina, all purpose flour, sugar. To make them different I added coco powder in some.  I used cashews and cranberries to  add some touch. This sweet cookie is just perfect to celebrate my first award! And I have been asked to share it with other bloggers I like…..Ladies,please note the rules and enjoy your award.

Rules …..

1. Accept the award. Post it on your blog with the name of the person who has granted the award and his or her blog link.
2. Pay it forward to 15 other bloggers.  Please don’t leave it general and just invite all your blogger friends to collect the Award.  It’s always nice to be nominated so please do the favour and nominate 15 bloggers to share the Award with.

3. Contact those blog owners and let them know they’ve been chosen.

Here comes my list of bloggers whom I find very inspiring and love visiting regularly…not that other’s do not inspire me(15 is too short a number)

Sayantani’s ahomemakersdiary.blogspot.com

Parita’s paritaskitchen.blogspot.com

Nupur’s onehotstove.blogspot.com

Champa’s versatilekitchen.blogspot.com

EC’s simpleindianfood.blogspot.com

PJ’s seduceyourtastebuds.blogspot.com

Priya’s priyaeasyntastyrecipes.blogspot.com

Sudeshna’s bengalicuisine.net

Sandipa’s www.bongcookbook.com

Shilpa’s www.aayisrecipes.com

Mina’s www.givemesomespice.com

Srivalli’s cooking4allseasons.blogspot.com

Patricia’s coloursdekor.blogspot.com

Ayeesha’s tasteofpearlcity.blogspot.com

Suhaina’s mysingaporekitchen.blogspot.com

Congratulations ladies!!!

12 thoughts on “Nankhatai and an award.

  1. Adding cocoa,nuts and fruits definitely adds a festive touch to the Nankhatai.Looks perfect 🙂

    Congrats on the award and thanks a bunch for passing it on to me Preeti 🙂

  2. Congrads on ur award. Hey thanks dear for sharing the award with us… u have a lovely blog. I am here for the first time but very happy to know that we do inspire u…happy blogging dear.

  3. First a big Congrats on the award. you truly deserve this one and then a big bunch of Thanks to you Preeti. thanks not only for the award but also for your encouraging and kind words at my space which has helped me tide over the crisis. the nankhatais look awesome…I must try this sometime. and at the end wish you and your family ‘Shubho Bijaya’.

Leave a Reply

