Baigan bharta/vangyache bharit


Baigan, Vanga, Begoon,egg plant, aubergine is a vegetable which quite a number of people do not like. I too never ate it till I forced to eat my tiffin in our hostel.  It had a regular supply of aubergine vegetable in different forms…alu-baigan, baigan-chana dal, baigan bharta, even in masale bhaat! If at all I went marketting with aai then, I would never, ever let aai choose it for buying. But times changed and so did my palate. In fact, when I was visiting China, I had baigan bharta in Beijing’s Holiday Inn and it was delicious. I loved it more because it had yoghurt stirred in and it added to it’s taste. Baigan bharta is absolutely relished by all now in our family,including me! I even love Bengali begoon bhaja, which I plan to prepare and post some time. Till date I had been preparing the bharta by pricking, and oiling and roasting it. But aai(my mum) had a different and a quick way of preparing it. What relieved me was I could come home from work and quickly prepare this bharta. Have a glimpse at this twist in bharta recipe.

Aubergine- 2

Medium sized,chopped Onion- 1

Tomato chopped-1

Green chillies chopped 2-3

Boiled peas and corns 1/2 cup

Salt as per your taste

For tempering:

Oil 1 tbsp (to saute the aubergine)

Oil 2 tbsp

mustard seeds 1 tsp

asofoetida a pinch

Turmeric 1 tspn

Chilli powder 1 tsp

Coriander chopped for garnishing

Wash and cut the aubergine into cubes. Saute the aubergin cubes in a pan with a tablespoon of oil. Keep it aside in plate or a bowl. When cool,grind it in a mixer or mash it with hands/potato masher.In the same pan, add the oil for tempering. Prepare the tempering by adding the mustard seeds, asofoetida, turmeric and red chilli powder. When the tempering is done,add the green chillies. When they are done, add the chopped onions and fry them till slightly cooked. Add in the chopped tomatoes.Cook till done. Add the aubergine mash into this mixture.Add salt for taste. Garnish with coriander and serve with hot chappatis.

Let me know about your thoughts on this recipe.

Leave a Reply

