Red Velvet cake….red passion and another Xperiment!


This red passionate piece I had been waiting to bake for quite a long time. I do not know what fascinated me about it, whether it was the history, or the dramatic ruby red colour, but I had to bake it! Since I am the only sweet toothed at home and if I have to eat a  cake on my own, in no time I would blow up into a little balloon(was just imagining as I am really short 🙂 )! http://www.bakerella.com/red-velvet-cake/ has a lovely collection of cakes and yummy goodies that anyone like me with higher sucrose tolerance would relish!! I watched the red velvet cake silently for so many weeks that I started dreaming about it. I knew it’s time that I actually experimented.I decided to bake it when we visited our new friends H and B. I checked various sites on the net and You Tubes videos and came up with this red velvet cake. It’s history is very interesting too.  Please refer http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_velvet_cake 

For the correct combination of red velvet cake recipe, please refer Bakerella’s blog. I quite changed the recipe to suit my requirements. Please do send in your colourful remarks for my red passionate creation! Here’s my experimental recipe:

  • Flour 2 1/4 cups 
  • A pinch of salt
  • Cocoa powder 2 tbsp
  • Red food colouring 4 tbsp
  • Unsalted butter softened 4 oz
  • Sugar 1 1/2 cups
  • Eggs 2
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1.5 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. white vinegar
  • Buttercream icing with vanilla and butter extract.
  • Fondant icing(optional)

Preheat the oven .Grease and flour 2 same sized cake pans. Mix flour and salt. Keep it aside. Colour the cocoa by adding the red colour and mix into smooth paste. Some websites advice on using beets in place of food colouring, very nutritious! In a large bowl, beat the butter and sugar till smooth and fluffy. Then beat in the eggs. Switch your mixer speed to low and add the flour a couple of tablespoons at a time. Alternate mixing flour with adding the buttermilk, vanilla extract, and the coloured cocoa paste. Mix the ingredients until all the batter is the same red colour. In a small bowl, stir the baking soda into the vinegar, and then fold it into the batter.Divide the batter evenly between the 2 cake pans and bake for about 30 minutes. Let the cake cool for 10 minutes; then invert the layers onto a rack to cool completely.

For the icing, I used buttercream for filling in and crumb coating. I covered it with fondant and decorated it with fondant flowers. But the actual red velvet cake asks for creamy cheese frosting. I might try that next time when I indulge into red again!

I am sending this to Shabitha’s Virtual Party Theme for 8th Sept- 8th Oct 2010.

Leave a Reply

