Warli Painting.


Warli is the name of the largest tribe found on the northern part of Western India. Their paintings are called as Warli paintings.

 This tribal art is prevalent in Thane district of Maharashtra. This was the first tribal art I attempted. A Warli painting is made up of simple geometrical elements like dots, straight & curved lines and most commonly triangles used to compose humans and animal figures. The original Warli paintings are executed in a paste of white rice on areas coated with red mud for a beautiful natural and stark effect. I have painted using various media. Mainly paper products like handmade paper bags creating Greetings, envelopes, lanterns, notepads, book Marks, etc. Some I painted on fabric coated with Geru (red mud), silk, canvas, cork board,terracotta,glass, etc.  Warli on ceramic is my new attempt and I loved the results. I love the smiles on my friend’s faces when I give my handmade ceramic tribal gifts for their special occassions.

5 thoughts on “Warli Painting.

  1. Hi,

    Hope you are doing well.
    Can you please tell me which colors are used for warli painting when done on mugs,
    plates, bowl etc…

    1. Hi Arpita,
      Thanks for visiting my blog. I have used ceramic colours and each piece was then fired in the kiln. I do not have the facility at home. I gave it to people who do it here in my town in UK.

  2. Cool paintings. You are very creative and talented I should say. I can draw very well but when I hold the paint brush, something bad happens to the outcome.

Leave a Reply

